• Friday, May 20, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

AL candidates sweep fifth phase municipality polls

  • Published at 12:16 am March 1st, 2021
Voting municipality elections Noakhali Basurhat
File photo of voters queue up to cast their votes in the second phase of municipality elections. The photo was taken from Basurhat Government Primary School centre in Companiganj upazila of Noakhali on Saturday, January 16, 2021 Dhaka Tribune

Awami League rebel candidate and BNP-backed candidate win in two municipalities

The Awami League candidates have clinched sweeping victories in the fifth phase of the municipality elections.

The mayoral aspirants of the ruling party won 27 out of the total 29 municipalities that went to polls on Sunday, according to the unofficial results.

A ruling party rebel candidate and a BNP-backed candidate secured victory in Rangpur and Bogra polls respectively.

Besides, two women mayoral contestants nominated by the ruling party won the polls in Nilphamari and Brahmanbaria.

In Rajshahi, two Awami League-backed mayoral candidates won the polls in two municipalities. 

Tofazzal Hossain was elected for the third consecutive term as the mayor in Durgapur municipality.

He bagged 8,808 votes while his rival BNP-backed candidate Jarjis Hossain Sohel got 6,401 votes.

Ekramul Haq won the Charghat municipality election defeating BNP aspirant Md Jakirul Islam Bikul.

The Awami League candidate got 14,981 votes while Bikul received 2,812 votes.

In Chapainawabganj, Awami League candidate Abdur Rashid Jhalu Khan was declared winner unofficially in the Nachol municipality polls.

Jhalu, who has been elected mayor for the second time, secured 4,512 votes while his nearest rival Awami League rebel candidate Rezaul Karim Babu got 2,892 votes.

In Joypurhat, Awami League mayoral aspirant Mostafizur Rahman Mostaq was elected for the second time in the Sadar municipality polls.

He bagged 24,490 votes and his rival BNP candidate Shamsul Haq received 4,161 votes.

In Nilphamari, Awami League candidate Rafika Akhter Jahan Baby was elected as the first female mayor of the Saidpur municipality.

Rafika secured 28,278 votes while her closest opponent BNP's Rashidul Haque Sarkar received 10,965 votes.

In Brahmanbaria municipality polls, Awami League candidate Nayar Kabir won the election by defeating his nearest opponent Mahmudul Haque Bhuiyan.

Nayar bagged 28,554 votes, where Mahmudul, a ruling party rebel candidate, got 18,361.

In Rangpur, Awami League rebel candidate Ershadul Haq defeated the ruling party aspirant in the Haragachh municipality election.

He got 17,260 votes while Awami League's Hakibur Rahman received 7,166 votes.

In Bogra, BNP-backed candidate Rezaul Karim Badsha won by bagging a total of 82,217 votes.

His nearest rival, Awami League rebel candidate Abdul Mannan Akand got 56,090 votes.

In Madaripur, Awami League mayoral candidate Khalid Hossain won the Sadar municipality election for the third time. He received 22,059 votes.

His nearest rival, BNP candidate Jahandar Ali Miya bagged 5,256 votes.

In Habiganj, Awami League candidate Ataur Rahman Selim was elected mayor unofficially in the Sadar municipality polls. He received 13,443 votes.

His nearest rival, ruling party rebel candidate Mizanur Rahman Mizan bagged 10,790 votes.

Also Read- 5th phase of municipality polls end amid sporadic violence, 1 killed in Saidpur

In Bhola, Awami League candidates won in the elections to two municipalities. 

Md Moniruzzaman was elected mayor for the third consecutive term in the Sadar municipality polls. 

He received 16,099 votes while his nearest opponent, BNP candidate Harunur Rashid got 2,034 votes.

Md Morshed won the Charfesson municipality polls. He received 14,918 votes.

His nearest rival, Md Sharif Hossain bagged only 781 votes.

In Gazipur, Awami League-nominated aspirant SM Robin Hossain won the Kaliganj municipality election.

Bagging 13,784 votes, Robin defeated independent candidate Lutfor Rahman who got 10,225 votes. 

In Chandpur, Awami League candidates Awlad Hossain Liton and Hazi Abdul Latif won the Matlab and Shahrasti municipality polls respectively.

Awlad received 20,694 votes and Latif received 12,855 votes.

In Jhenaidah, the ruling party aspirants were elected mayor for the second time in two municipalities. 

Md Ashraful Alam bagged 19,326 votes in the Kaliganj municipality election and his closest rival BNP's Mahabubar Rahman got 3,074 votes.  

Abdur Rashid Khan won the Moheshpur municipality polls by securing 13,598 votes.  

In Jamalpur, three Awami League aspirants Md Sanwar Hossain, Abdul Kader Sheikh, and Mirza Golam Kibria Kabir won the Sadar, Islampur, and Madarganj municipality polls respectively.

Besides, Awami League candidates Gias Uddin (unopposed) in Mirsarai, Rezaul Karim Khokon in Baraiyarhat, and Shahjahan Sikder in Rangunia of Chittagong, Gias Uddin Rubel Bhat in Raipur of Lakshmipur, Abu Nayeem Mohammad Bashar in Singair of Manikganj, Iftekhar Hossain Benu in Bhairab of Kishoreganj, Rafiqul Islam in Keshabpur of Jessore, Awlad Hossain Khan (unopposed) in Shibchar of Madaripur, and Rafiq Uddin Bhuiyan in Nandail of Mymensingh won the polls.

Meanwhile, in Comilla, Awami League candidate Abul Kalam Azad won the Debidwar upazila council by-polls.

Besides, Awami League aspirants Yasin Ali and Shefali Begum won the Poba and Sailkupa upazila council by-polls in Rajshahi and Jhenaidah respectively.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail