• Monday, Aug 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Elections to 163 union parishads postponed

  • Published at 05:04 pm June 10th, 2021
Voting municipality elections Noakhali Basurhat
File photo of voters queue up to cast their votes in the second phase of municipality elections. The photo was taken from Basurhat Government Primary School centre in Companiganj upazila of Noakhali on Saturday, January 16, 2021 Dhaka Tribune

Lakshmipur 2 by-polls will be held as per schedule on June 21, three other by-polls have been rescheduled to July 28

The Election Commission has postponed polls to 163 union parishads, out of 367, which were scheduled to be held on June 21.

The decision came at an urgent meeting of the commission on Thursday amid a surge of Covid-19 infections in the electoral areas, reports Bangla Tribune.

Elections to 68 union parishads in Bagerhat, 34 in Khulna, 21 in Satkhira, 13 in Noakhali, 12 in Chittagong, and 15 in Cox's Bazar have been postponed.

Voting in nine municipalities, out of 11, scheduled for June 21, have also been postponed.

The commission withheld the elections after reviewing recommendations of Institute of Epidemiology, Disease Control and Research (IEDCR), and opinions from local administration along with regional election officials, Election Commission Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandakar told the media after the meeting.

However, 204 other union parishads will go to polls on June 21, he said, adding that by-polls to Lakshmipur 2 constituency will also be held as per the schedule (June 21). 

In addition, the commission rescheduled the by-polls to Comilla 5, Dhaka 14, and Sylhet 3 to July 28 from July 14, reports Prothom Alo.