• Thursday, Aug 11, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Elections to 161 UPs, 9 municipalities on September 20

  • Published at 09:25 pm September 2nd, 2021
Election Commission_EC
Logo of the Election Commission (EC) of Bangladesh

The elections were delayed due to the pandemic

Elections to 161 union parishads (UP) in Khulna, Bagerhat, Satkhira, Noakhali, Chittagong and Cox's Bazar and 9 municipalities in the country, which were postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic, will be held on September 20.

Election Commission Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandakar confirmed the information while talking to reporters at the media centre of the Nirbachan Bhaban in the capital’s Agargaon area on Thursday.

Also Read- Election Commission: UP polls, by-polls, NCC polls to be held this year

The nine municipalities are Bhanga in Faridpur, Nangalkot in Comilla, Chakaria and Maheshkhali in Cox's Bazar, Sonagazi in Feni, Kabirhat in Noakhali, Nawapara in Jessore, Debiganj in Panchagarh and Boalkhali in Chittagong.