• Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Bangladesh, Russia to form joint commission on trade cooperation

  • Published at 10:52 am March 1st, 2017
  • Last updated at 12:03 pm March 1st, 2017
Bangladesh, Russia to form joint commission on trade cooperation
Bangladesh and Russia have signed an agreement on the establishment of an intergovernmental commission on trade and economic, scientific and technical cooperation. State Minister for Foreign Affairs Md Shahriar Alam MP signed the agreement on behalf of the Bangladesh government on Wednesday morning at the Foreign Ministry office. The Russian government was represented at the signing by Alexey Gruzdev, its deputy minister for economic development. Also present were Bangladesh Foreign Minister Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali and other senior officials of the ministry, and Russian Ambassador to Bangladesh Alexander I Ignatov, a foreign ministry press release said. [caption id="attachment_49723" align="aligncenter" width="800"]russia bangladesh deal State Minister for Foreign Affairs Shahriar Alam signs an agreement on forming an intergovernmental commission with Russia March 1, 2017 PID[/caption] The intergovernmental commission will assist the business communities of the two countries to promote the development of broad-based bilateral cooperation in a variety of areas. It will analyse the status of trade, economic, scientific and technical cooperation, particularly in the areas of agriculture, energy and power, and education. Wednesday's deal deepens the existing ties between the two countries. In 2013, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina signed a billion-dollar deal with the Kremlin for fighter training jets, helicopters and anti-tank missiles. Moscow stepped in again with nuclear power, pledging 90 percent of the funding and much of the technical expertise needed for two 1,200-megawatt plants which are slated to come on grid in Bangladesh by 2023. Both parties in the new intergovernmental commission will appoint co-chairs, with deputies and executive secretaries to carry out the commission’s work. Permanent or ad-hoc working groups on specific areas of cooperation may be established within the framework of the commission by a joint decision. The commission will meet at least once a year, alternately in Dhaka and Moscow.  
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail