• Friday, Sep 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Bangladesh elected to IMSO Assembly, Commonwealth Foundation Grants Committee

  • Published at 05:26 pm December 28th, 2020
Saida Muna Tasneem, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Bangladesh to UNESCAP
Saida Muna Tasneem, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Bangladesh to UNESCAP Dhaka Tribune

The assembly is the top policy-making body of the 106-member International Mobile Satellite Organisation

Bangladesh High Commissioner to the UK, Permanent Representative to the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) and International Mobile Satellite Organisation (IMSO) Saida Muna Tasneem has been unanimously elected as the Vice-Chair of the 26th Assembly of IMSO for the biennial 2021-2022. 

She was elected at the week-long assembly held recently in London, said the High Commission on Monday. 

The assembly is the top policy-making body of the 106-member International Mobile Satellite Organisation, the only international organisation that oversees public satellite safety and security in maritime communication services provided by mobile satellite communication systems.   

Following her election, High Commissioner Tasneem pledged to work closely with fellow IMSO member states towards improving global mobile satellite communication systems as well as effective implementation of Global Maritime Safety and Security System protocols including the Long Range Identification and Tracking of Ships and Safety of Life at Sea Conventions.   

“As a Bay of Bengal maritime nation guided by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s visionary maritime safety initiatives, including the launching of the Bangabandhu-1 Satellite, I would, during my two-year tenure, specially pursue greater safety and security of mobile satellite communication systems for sustainable maritime safety,” she said.   

Earlier, Bangladesh High Commissioner to the UK and the Commonwealth Saida Muna Tasneem was also unanimously elected as a member of the Commonwealth Foundation Grants Committee for the term 2020-2021. 

The high commissioner said: “Bangladesh, since its membership of the Commonwealth in 1973 under the charismatic leadership of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, has been committed to enhancing its engagements with all-important policy-making bodies of the Commonwealth, including the Commonwealth Foundation that provides Commonwealth grants for funding of socioeconomic developments projects in Commonwealth countries.”  

Earlier, Bangladesh was successfully elected and served as a member of the Commonwealth Executive Committee for the term 2018-2019 and 2019-2020 and at the Commonwealth (NGOs)Accreditation Committee for the term 2019-2020.  

The Commonwealth Foundation is one of Commonwealth’s three principal agencies alongside the Commonwealth Secretariat and the Commonwealth of Learning.  

As part of Bangladesh’s sustained leadership bids at the Commonwealth, in October 2020 Bangladesh Foreign Minister Dr Abdul Momen was elected as Chair of the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group on Guyana.  

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail