• Saturday, Feb 04, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Ministers Nurul Islam, Matior Rahman, Yeafesh Osman and Mustafa Jabbar quit

  • Published at 01:51 pm November 6th, 2018
WEB_Technocrat ministers_Nurul Islam_Matior Rahman_ Mustafa Jabbar_Yafesh osman_Edited_06.11.2018
Clockwise, Nurul Islam BSc, Matior Rahman, Mustafa Jabbar and Yafesh Osman Dhaka Tribune

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina directed the four technocrat ministers to quit the cabinet

The four technocrat ministers of the current Cabinet – NurulIslam BSc and Matior Rahman, Yeafesh Osman and Mustafa Jabbar – haveresigned hours after Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina asked them to.

All of them rendered their resignation letters to the prime minister through the Cabinet Division on Tuesday evening, reports UNB.

Expatriates' Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Nurul’s resignation letter was tendered by his personal secretary Abul Hasnat Humayun Kabir around 6:30pm, confirmed his assistant private secretary Niaj Morshed Niru.

Religious Affairs Minister Matior's personal secretary Anwar Hossain said he submitted the minister's resignation letter around 7:15pm.

Science and Technology Minister Yeafesh’s resignation letter was submitted by his personal assistant Ujjal Chowdhury after 6pm.

Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology Minister Jabbar's resignation letter was also submitted around the same time, said a source at the Cabinet Division.

Earlier in the day, the premier had directed these four ministers to step down from the Cabinet, Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader told reporters at Ganabhaban after the Cabinet meeting.

Also Read- PM orders technocrat ministers to resign

Quader, also the Awami League general secretary, added that the other ministers were remainingin theirrespective Cabinet posts.

Meanwhile, government sources told the Bangla Tribune there were three reasons why the technocratministers were asked to resign.

Firstly, Prime Minister Hasina apparently wants to run the polls-time administration without the technocrat ministers, like she did during the last general election in 2014.

Secondly, the prime minister wants to ensure accountability to the people by excluding the technocrat minister from her Cabinet and organize the election for the people by their representatives.

Thirdly, by making her Cabinet’s technocrat ministers resign, the prime minister wanted to close the door on possibilities of leaders from other political parties and alliances demanding to become technocrat ministers in the polls-time government.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail