• Tuesday, Nov 29, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:24 am

New cabinet likely to be formed on January 5

  • Published at 01:37 pm January 1st, 2019
Web_File photo of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina
File photo of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina Focus Bangla

Awami League are hopeful of forming the cabinet before Bangabandhu's Homecoming Day on January 10

The ruling Awami league and its alliance partners are likely to form the new Cabinet on Saturday, January 5, after registering a landslide victory in the 11th general election on Sunday.

The Awami League-led 14-party Alliance and Grand Alliance secured 288 out of 298 seats to take office for the third consecutive term.

According to Awami League senior brass, the ruling party plans to form the new cabinet on Saturday, while elected lawmakers will take their oaths on Thursday, January 3.

On condition of anonymity, a member of the present Cabinet told the Dhaka Tribune the Cabinet Division was already making arrangements to hold the oath taking ceremony for new cabinet members on Saturday, as per Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s instructions.

Earlier on Tuesday, Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader said the party was hopeful of forming a new Cabinet by January 10, which is celebrated as Bangabandhu’s Homecoming Day.

“Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman returned home on January 10, 1972. After the landslide victory, Awami League is hopeful that new cabinet members will take their oath before January 10 to mark the day," he said.

He added that the gazette notification on the swearing-in ceremony for newly elected lawmakers would be issued within a couple of days.

Meanwhile, Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu said newly-elected lawmakers would be sworn into parliament on January 3.

An election commissioner said although necessary preparations were being taken to issue the gazette notification on the new Cabinet, it is yet to be determined when the gazette notification would actually be issued.

On Sunday, December 30, Awami League-led alliances clinched a resounding victory in the 11th general election, winning 97% of the seats in parliament.

Awami League’s arch political rival BNP and Jatiya Oikya Front bagged only seven seats.

According to Awami League, party President Sheikh Hasina is set to become the prime minister for the third consecutive time, a record in Bangladesh.

Previously, Awami League and its alliance won with more than two-thirds majority in the 2008 and 2014 general polls under Sheikh Hasina’s leadership.

In 2014, the general election was held on January 5, and cabinet was subsequently formed on January 12.

Sheikh Hasina was sworn in as the prime minister for the first time in 1996, steering her party to power after a gap of 21 years.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail