• Friday, Jul 01, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Gazette over new cabinet published

  • Published at 06:32 pm January 7th, 2019
Newly appointed ministers of the cabinet take oath at the oath taking ceremony held at Bangabhaban in Dhaka on Monday, January 7, 2019 Reuters

The new 47-member council of ministers took oath on Monday

The Cabinet Division on Monday published a gazette distributing portfolios among the 47 new cabinet members, immediately after they took oath at Bangabhaban.

The outgoing cabinet got abolished with the publication of the gazette, reports UNB.

According to the gazette, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will have the portfolios for Cabinet Division, Public Administration Ministry, Defence Ministry, Armed Forces Division, Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Ministry, and Women and Children Affairs Ministry.

There are 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers in the new cabinet, constituted following Awami League's landslide victory in the 11th general election, held on December 30.

As per the gazette, the 24 new ministers include AKM Mozammel Huq (Liberation War Affairs), Obaidul Quader (Road Transport and Bridges), Md Abdur Razzak (Agriculture), Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal (Home Affairs), Mohammad Hasan Mahmud (Information), Anisul Huq (Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs), AHM Mustafa Kamal (Finance), Md Tajul Islam (Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives), Dipu Moni (Education), AK Abdul Momen (Foreign Affairs), and MA Mannan (Planning).

Also, Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun (Industries), Golam Dastagir Gazi (Textiles and Jute), Zahid Malek (Health and Family Welfare), Sadhan Chandra Majumder (Food), Tipu Munshi (Commerce), Nuruzzaman Ahmed (Social Welfare), SM Rezaul Karim (Housing and Public Works), Md Shahab Uddin (Environment, Forest and Climate Change), Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing (Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs), Saifuzzaman Chowdhury (Land), Md Nurul Islam Sujan (Railways), Yeafesh Osman (Science and Technology — Technocrat), and Mustafa Jabbar (Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology — Technocrat) are in the new cabinet.

The 19 new state ministers include Md Shahriar Alam (Foreign Affairs), Zunaid Ahmed Palak (Information and Communication Technology Division), Kamal Ahmed Majumder (Education), Imran Ahmad (Expatriates' Welfare and Overseas Employment), Md Zahid Ahsan Russel (Youth and Sports), Nasrul Hamid Bipu (Power, Energy and Mineral Resources), Md Ashraf Ali Khan Kashru (Fisheries and Livestock), Begum Monnuzan Sufian (Labour and Employment), and Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury (Shipping).

Also, Md Zakir Hossain (Primary and Mass Education), Farhad Hossain (Public Administration), Shwapan Bhattacharjee (LGRD and Cooperatives), Jahid Faruk (Water Resources), Md Murad Hasan (Health and Family Welfare), Sharif Ahmed (Social Welfare), KM Khalid (Cultural Affairs), Md Enamur Rahaman (Disaster Management and Relief), Md Mahbub Ali (Civil Aviation and Tourism) and Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah (Religious Affairs — Technocrat) are in the new cabinet.

The new deputy ministers are Begum Habibun Nahar (Environment, Forest and Climate Change), AKM Enamul Haque Shamim (Water Resources), and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Nowfel (Education).

Awami League President Sheikh Hasina took oath as the country’s prime minister for the third consecutive term,along with 46 members of her new cabinet,earlier in the afternoon.

President Md Abdul Hamid administered the oath to the prime minister and her colleagues in the Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban between 3:40pm and 4pm.

This is the first cabinet with all members from the Awami League since 1973.Sheikh Hasina has also become the prime minister for a record fourth time.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail