• Wednesday, Jan 26, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:32 am

Nine fresh faces made ministers

  • Published at 02:18 am January 7th, 2019
WEB_File photo of Bangladesh Secretariat_Syed Zakir Hossain_03.01.2019.jpg
File photo of Bangladesh Secretariat Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

Another four who were in previous cabinets have been brought back to serve again

Awami League’s new cabinet has nine fresh faces as ministers, among the 27 lawmakers holding any ministerial post for the first time.

Another four who were in previous cabinets have been brought back to serve again.

Md Tajul Islam, selected for LGRD Ministry, a four-time parliamentarian from Comilla, was never a minister before. Foreign Minister AK Abdul Momen was never a minister. The younger brother of outgoing finance minister AMA Muhith, Momen has served as a diplomat for many years.

The other fresh faces who never held a cabinet position are – former Jubo League leader Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun for Industries ministry, business leader Golam Dastagir Gazi for Textiles and Jute, Sadhan Chandra Majumdar for Food, Tipu Munshi for Commerce, SM Rezaul Karim for Housing, Md Nurul Islam Sujan for Railways and Md Shahab Uddin for Environment.

Md Abdur Razzak, selected for Agriculture Ministry, Dipu Moni for Education, Hasan Mahmud for Information ministry, and Begum Monnuzan Sufian as state minister for Labour and Employment have all previously served in the cabinet.

Also Read- 47-strong council of ministers announced

On the other hand, of the 19 state ministers, 15 are serving for the first time.   

These state ministers are Kamal Ahmed Majumder for Industries, Imran Ahmad for Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment, Md Zahid Ahsan Russel for Youth and Sports, Md Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru for Fisheries and Livestock, Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury for Shipping, Md Zakir Hossain for Primary and Mass Education, Farhad Hossain for Public Administration, Shawpan Bhattacharjee for LGRD and Cooperatives, Jahid Faruk for Water Resources, Md Murad Hasan for Health and Family Welfare, Sharif Ahmed for Social Welfare, KM Khalid for Cultural Affairs, Md Enamur Rahman for Disaster Management and Relief, Md Mahbub Ali for Civil Aviation and Tourism, Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah for Religious Affairs-Technocrat.

All three deputy ministers are new to ministerial duties - Begum Habibun Nahar for Environment, Forest and Climate Change, AKM Enamul Haque Shamim for Water Resources and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Nowfel for Education.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail