• Monday, Dec 05, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

34 eminent South Asians call for Shahidul Alam’s release

  • Published at 01:34 pm November 13th, 2018
Photographer Shahidul Alam getting out of a vehicle with help from police officials while being taken to the Dhaka Chief Metropolitan Magistrate's Court for a remand hearing on Monday, August 6, 2018 Dhaka Tribune

They have written to Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina

A group of prominent South Asian writers and cultural personalities have urged the Bangladesh government to release internationally acclaimed photographer Shahidul Alam from jail, marking his arrest 100 days ago on August 5.

“Shahidul Alam is a Bangladeshi citizen, but the rest of us in South Asia are also proud to call him our own, for the values of truth, justice and social equality he promotes,” the signatories said in a letter to Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina recently.

Plainclothesmen had picked up Shahidul from his Dhaka residence hours after he appeared in Facebook live several times during a student movement demanding road safety in the capital.

He told the court that he was tortured in custody but his statement was not recorded, his counsel Jyotirmoy Barua had said.

Shahidul was later denied bail several times and is still in jail. There have been many pleas from across the world to have him released.

The signatories of the letter to Prime Minister Hasina also noted that Shahidul’s work and activism were respected all over the region and beyond, “with innumerable friends who admire his concern for the voiceless and marginalized.”

“Prime Minister, we the undersigned urge you to ensure the release of Shahidul Alam on this, the 100th day of his detention. We look forward to Bangladesh retaining its place as an exemplar of participatory democracy in South Asia,” the letter added.

The signatories included Akram Khan, Amar Kanwar, Amitav Ghosh, Anish Kapoor, Aparna Sen, Arundhati Roy, Ashok Vajpeyi, Buddhadeb Dasgupta, Dayanita Singh, Ina Puri, Jayadeva Uyangoda, Kanak Mani Dixit, Laila Tyabji, Manjushree Thapa, Mohammed Hanif, Moushumi Bhowmik, Nandita Das, Nimalka Fernando, Patricia Mukhim, Pooja Sood, Rachana Singh, Raghu Rai, Rajdeep Sardesai, Ramchandra Guha, Romila Thapar, Salima Hashmi, Sanjay Kak, Sanjoy Hazarika, Sankha Ghosh, Shabana Azmi, Sushila Karki, Vijay Prashad, Vikram Seth, Vrinda Grover.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail