• Monday, Jun 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

PM opens first-ever non-stop train service on Dhaka-Rajshahi route

  • Published at 11:50 am April 25th, 2019
web-pm-inaugurates- train service-dhaka rajshahi
File photo: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurates a non-stop Dhaka-Rajshahi intercity train service through video conferencing from her official residence, Ganabhaban, in Dhaka on April 25, 2019 Focus Bangla

The 927-seat modern train started its maiden trip this morning

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has launched the first-ever non-stop intercity train service on Dhaka-Rajshahi route.

She opened the service “Bonolota Express” through videoconferencing from her official residence Ganabhaban Thursday morning.

With the launch of the non-stop intercity train service, the prime minister fulfilled the long-cherished demand of the people of Rajshahi region.

The 927-seat modern train started its maiden trip from Rajshahi towards Dhaka around 11:10am, reports UNB.

Now passengers will be able to travel to Rajshahi from Dhaka within 4 hours and 45 minutes, which is over an hour less than the current travel time.

Bonolota Express is the third non-stop intercity train in Bangladesh. Currently, two non-stop trains are plying on Dhaka-Chittagong route.

The high-speed train—which has 12 coaches-- will be running on the 343-kilometre route without any stoppage between Dhaka and Rajshahi.

Now three intercity trains --Silk City Express, Padma Express and Dhumketu Express-- are running daily on the Dhaka-Rajshahi route, having stoppages at 10 to 14 stations.

According to the regular schedule, Bonolota Express will start from Rajshahi at 7am and reach Kamalapur Railway Station in Dhaka by 11:40am.

It will leave Dhaka at 1:15pm and reach Rajshahi at 6pm.

The train is equipped with some modern facilities like bio-toilet, reclining chairs, Wi-Fi and mobile phone-recharging system for passengers.

Bangladesh Railways procured 50 high-speed and modern coaches from Indonesia for new trains on different routes, including the Rajshahi-Dhaka one.

Railways Minister Nurul Islam Sujan delivered the congratulatory speech joining the inaugural ceremony from Rajshahi Railways Station. Rajshahi City Corporation Mayor AHM Khairuzzman Liton accompanied by many other dignitaries also attended the function at the Rajshahi end.

Principal Secretary Md Nojibur Rahman conducted the inaugural event at Ganobhaban, while Railways Secretary Md Mofazzel Hossain made a presentation over the non-stop train service as well as the activities and successes of Bangladesh Railways.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail