• Thursday, Dec 01, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Government to compensate Fani-affected farmers

  • Published at 10:00 am May 7th, 2019
WEB_Cyclone Fani_storm surges inundate cropland in Khulna_Syed Zakir Hossain_04.05.2019.jpg
Storm surges due to Cyclone Fani overflow a dam and inundate cropland in Banishanta area, in Mongla, Khulna, on Saturday, May 4, 2019 Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

Crops worth Tk38.5 crore were damaged by the severe cyclonic storm, which hit southeast Bangladesh on Saturday

The government is planning to provide support to the farmers whose crops were damaged when Cyclone Fani hit Khulna and adjacent areas on Saturday.

Speaking to reporters on Tuesday, Agriculture Minister Dr Abdur Razzak said his ministry would provide seeds, fertilizer and cash money to farmers under a rehabilitation program, to be implemented between 2019 and 2020, after a list of the affected farmers is prepared.

Fani damaged crops over some 155,832 acres of land, in 209 upazilas of 35 districts, the minister said at the press briefing, held at his office in the Secretariat building, reported UNB.

The minister said the cyclone had caused an accumulated loss of Tk385,402,500, affecting around 13,631 farmers in 35 different districts.

“Boro paddy on some 137,412 acres, maize on 1,672 acres, vegetables on 9,044 acres, jute on 5,886 acres, and betel leaf on 1,816 acres of land were damaged by the cyclone,” he added.

The minister further said the ministry had directed the local administration to drain water from the croplands and vegetable fields – as short-term solution – and help the farmers harvest Boro paddy.

Labelling the government agriculture-friendly, Razzak said the Department of Agricultural Extension (DAE) and the Ministry of Agriculture are jointly working to help the farmers.

Severe cyclonic storm Fani hit Bangladesh's coastal areas on Saturday, after it made landfall in Odisha, India the day before.

The districts that were affected in Bangladesh are: Narayanganj, Tangail, Munshiganj, Mymensingh, Sherpur, Jamalpur, Netrokona, Brahmanbaria, Feni, Lakshmipur, Sylhet, Sunamganj, Bogra, Joypurhat, Sirajganj, Rajshahi, Naogaon, Chapainawabganj, Natore, Gaibandha, Khulna, Bagerhat, Satkhira, Narail, Chuadanga, Faridpur, Madaripur, Gopalganj, Barisal, Barguna, Bhola, Patuakhali, Jhalakati, and Pirojpur.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail