• Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

CCC polls killing: Case filed against councillor-elect Wasim’s supporters

  • Published at 04:57 pm January 28th, 2021
ccc poll violence
Victim’s family members lament their loss outside the UCEP Ambagan Technical School polling centre where pedestrian Alauddin was shot dead on Wednesday, January 27, 2021 Dhaka Tribune

Alauddin died in a factional clash that involved supporters of both the contenders of 13 No ward

A case has been filed over the killing of Alauddin, also known as Alam, one of the two dead amid violence and clash centering the Chittagong City Corporation (CCC) election on Wednesday.  

Alauddin's sister lodged a case with Railways police station on election night accusing 9 supporters of the winning councillor from Ambagan, ward number 13 Md Wasim and 20 others unknown in this connection. 

Railway police station officer-in-charge Sohrab Hossain lodged the case and said 9 accused of this case are Md Nasir, Saiful Islam, Joj Mia, Md Aktar, Md Billal, Md Sanu, Md Helal, Nasir and Md Imon all known as supporters of Awami League-backed councillor Mohammad Wasim. 

According to the witnesses the incident occurred near city's UCEP-Ambagan Technical School at 13 Pahartoli ward around 9 am on Wednesday. 

Wasim and Awami League rebel candidate Mahmudur Rahman's supporters had an altercation over the election during the balloting. Amid this Alauddin, a supporter of candidate Mahmudur Rahman was shot and later taken to the Chittagong Medical College hospital. There the doctors announced him dead. Another 4 were injured in the clash and a vehicle was set on fire. 

Chittagong Metropolitan's deputy Commissioner Bijoy Bashak said, Alauddin died in a factional clash that involved supporters of both the contenders of 13 No ward. 

CCC polls at a glance  

CCC polls ended on Wednesday amid series of violence, clashes and leaving 2 people dead. 

The balloting began around 8 am and continued until 4 pm without any break while the counting of votes began shortly after the voting ended. 

Awami League-backed Rezaul Karim Chowdhury has been elected as new mayor of the port city, winning by massive margin over BNP candidate Shahadat Hossain. 

Results of 733 centres of 735 were declared from the Election Commission's temporary control room set up at MA Aziz Stadium in the port city. 

However, polling was suspended in two centres. 

BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi alleged that the agents of their party's mayoral and councillor candidates were driven out from most of the polling stations just after the voting began in the morning. The BNP party leader remarked CCC saying: “Nothing but an extreme level of joke and farce.” 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail