• Saturday, Aug 13, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Combined list of 2,973 freedom fighters published in fourth phase

  • Published at 11:28 pm June 24th, 2021
freedom fighters-1971-war
File Photo of freedom fighters in 1971 Courtesy of Anwar Hossain Foundation

Previously the government published the names of 166,641 freedom fighters in three phases

The Liberation War Affairs Ministry has published the combined list (fourth phase) of names of 2,973 valiant freedom fighters from 55 upazilas under eight divisions of the country. 

“The list is available on the website of the ministry www.molwa.gov.bd,” said a press release on Thursday. 

The published list includes 938 freedom fighters from Dhaka division, 177 from Chittagong division, 167 from Barisal division, 562 from Khulna division, 202 from Mymensingh division, 778 from Rajshahi division, 58 from Rangpur division, and 91 from Sylhet division. 

The list has been published after regularizing the unauthorized “Besamorik gazette” of the Jatiya Muktijoddha Council (Jamuka). 

Earlier, on March 25, the Liberation War Affairs Ministry published the names of 147,537 freedom fighters in a combined list in the first phase while it published names of 6,988 freedom fighters on May 9 in the second phase and the names of 12,116 freedom fighters on June 7 in the third phase.