• Monday, Aug 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

CEC: Sylhet 3 by-polls will take place amid Covid lockdown

  • Published at 06:24 pm July 24th, 2021
Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda
File photo of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda Collected

He says health rules will be strictly maintained during Wednesday’s voting through EVM

There is no chance to postpone the election to the Sylhet 3 constituency, slated for this Wednesday, due to legal and constitutional obligations, the chief election commissioner (CEC) has stressed, even though the country is currently under a strict Covid-19 lockdown.

KM Nurul Huda made the comment while talking to reporters after a meeting, on law and order during the vote, at the district deputy commissioner’s office on Saturday.

He said that all election-related activities on July 28, Wednesday, will be outside the purview of the ongoing nationwide lockdown aimed at curbing the rise in Covid-19 cases and deaths.

However, the authorities will maintain strict health regulations and fair voting. “The balloting at Sylhet 3 by-polls will take place through the EVMs (electronic voting machines) and all preparations have been completed to hold the vote by strictly maintaining the health rules.”

The CEC also urged everyone to wear masks and maintain social distancing when they come to the polling centre to cast their votes.

Also Read - CEC: Elections more important than Covid-19 fears

Talking to reporters, Election Commissioner Shahadat Hossain said that the Election Commission was doing everything it can to carry out its constitutional duties. “There is no room for any doubt.”

The Sylhet 3 constituency, which had fallen vacant after its MP Mahmud Samad Chowdhury died from Covid-19 on March 11, has some 330,000 voters in three upazilas -- Dakkhin Surma, Fenchuganj, and Balaganj -- under it.

In line with the Election Commission’s decision, the voting in this parliamentary seat will take place from 8am to 4 pm this Wednesday.

The four candidates vying to be elected this seat’s lawmaker are Awami League’s Habibur Rahman, Jatiya Party’s Mohammad Atiqur Rahman, Junaid Mohammad Mia of Bangladesh Congress, and independent runner Shafi Ahmed Chowdhury.

Apart from Election Commission officials, Saturday’s meeting was attended by senior officials of different law enforcement agencies, local administrations and organizations.