• Sunday, May 29, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Barisal clash: 9 accused get bail

  • Published at 07:04 pm August 25th, 2021
Barisal clash bail
A Barisal court granted bail to 9 accused in cases filed over the Barisal clash on Wednesday, August 25, 2021 Dhaka Tribune

The court orders PBI to submit report within September 23

A Barisal court on Wednesday granted bail to nine accused in two cases filed over the attack on the residence of Barisal Sadar Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO) Munibur Rahman on August 18.

Barisal Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Mohammad Masum Billah passed the order after hearing a bail prayer filed on behalf of 22 people.

Earlier, advocate Rafiqul filed the petition seeking bail for 13 accused in the cases.

Khokon Chandra Das, general recording officer (GRO) of the court, said that a total of 12 accused were granted bail in the cases. “But as three names are common in both cases, so actually nine men got are bail.”

The Accused Iktier Uddin, Salam Manu, Alo Gazi, Momin Uddin Kalu, Kabir Talukdar, Humayun Kabir Hawladar, Ilias Jamir Uddin and Nasir Uddin.

According to court sources, Barisal city Awami league Joint Secretary Hasan Mahamud Babu did not get bail.  

Also Read - BNP: Barisal clash exhibits Awami League’s criminalization

Advocate Talukder Md Yunus, secretary of Barisal district unit Awami League, said they would file bail prayer again on behalf of the arrested on Thursday.

On August 22, the court rejected the bail plea of 21 Awami League men arrested in connection with the cases.

On August 18, a clash broke out between the supporters of the Awami League, Chhatra League members, Barisal City Corporation employees and the Ansar members when the former tried to attack the residence of the UNO at Sadar upazila complex in Barisal.

As many as five people suffered bullet wounds during the clash. Of them, two Awami League men lost their eyesights later. 

Two separate cases were filed in this connection. 

Also Read - Barisal clash: PBI to investigate 2 cases

UNO Munibur Rahman and Assistant Sub-Inspector of police Shahjalal Mallick were the plaintiffs in the cases, accusing Mayor Serniabat Sadiq Abdullah and his men of obstruction of government work and attempt to murder.

Besides more than 500 unnamed Awami League activists and BCC employees were also accused in the cases.

A total of 22 people have been arrested in this connection so far.

The court directed the Police Bureau of Investigation (PBI) to investigate the cases and submit reports within September 23. 

On August 22, Awami League leaders and BCC officials, including city-mayor, meeting the high level administrative and law enforcing officials had reached an understanding about the matter to continue regular civic services of BCC and follow the legal procedure peacefully.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail