• Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

EC set to hold Sylhet 3 by-polls Saturday

  • Published at 01:44 pm September 3rd, 2021
The Election Commission is planning to use EVMs at the polling centres in one-third of the country’s 300 constituencies, a move which drew huge criticism from oppositions and independent observers Syed Zakir Hossain
File photo of an electronic voting machine (EVMs) Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

In a joint statement issued by the Sylhet district and metropolitan BNP on Friday, the party boycotted the election

The Election Commission has completed all the preparations to hold the by-election to Sylhet 3 constituency on Saturday using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Voting will start at 8am and continue until 4pm in the evening.

The Sylhet 3 constituency consists of Fenchuganj, Balaganj and South Surma with 350,000 voters.

According to sources, a magistrate will be in charge of each union in the by-election of the Sylhet 3 constituency. An additional deputy commissioner will be appointed in each upazila on the day of the election.

In a joint statement issued by the Sylhet district and metropolitan BNP on Friday, the party boycotted the election.

Also Read - By-polls to Sylhet 3 constituency on September 4

Even though the BNP has decided to boycott this election, four others are competing in the election. 

Habibur Rahman Habib is running for the by-polls from the ruling Awami League’s ticket along with Jatiya Party’s Mohammad Atiqur Rahman, Bangladesh Congress’ Junayed Mohammad Miah and Shafi Ahmed Chowdhury, a BNP rebel candidate.

Voting in the parliamentary constituency could not take place in the first 90 days due to the lockdown, caused by Covid-19, in the country.

The seat remained vacant after the death of Awami League MP Mahmud Us Samad. He died from the coronavirus on March 11.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail