• Tuesday, Mar 21, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Pran Gopal Datta goes to parliament as Comilla 7 MP

  • Published at 07:00 am September 20th, 2021
Dr Pran Gopal Datta
File photo of Dr Pran Gopal Datta Collected

A public notice has been issued announcing Datta as the unopposed winner

Pran Gopal Datta, a former vice chancellor of the Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University, was elected to parliament from the Comilla 7 constituency.

Two of the respected doctor's opponents dropped out, while another had their application denied, leaving the Awami League candidate unopposed, according to media reports.

Md Dulal Talukder, the returning officer and regional election officer, announced Datta's uncontested victory and also issued a public notice on Monday morning.

Former deputy speaker Md Ali Ashraf, who died on July 30, represented the Comilla 7 constituency, which included Chandina Upazila. From the constituency, he had been elected to parliament five times.

On Sept 2, the Election Commission set Oct 7 as the date for the bypoll. However, because Datta was the only candidate, the election was called for him.

Six candidates bought applications for the Comilla 7 election, according to the returning officer.

Also Read - Dr Pran Gopal Datta gets Awami League nomination for Comilla 7 by-polls

Two of them never submitted the application in its entirety. Of the four who did, NAP candidate Monirul Islam and the Jatiya Party’s Lutfor Reza Khokon later withdrew. During the Election Commission's scrutiny on September 14, independent candidate Saleh Siddiqi's application was denied.

On Sunday evening, the election returning officer sent a report on the matter to the Election Commission, as required by law.

Then, on Monday, Datta was declared the unchallenged winner in a public notification.

Pran Gopal Datta is an otolaryngologist who specializes in ear, nose, and throat problems. For his services to medical service, he was awarded the Independence Award.

He was also Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina's personal physician.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail