• Thursday, Dec 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Parliamentary sub-committee formed to make list of Razakars

  • Published at 01:38 pm August 9th, 2020
web-File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament <b>Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune</b> sangsad
File photo of the session room inside the Bangladesh Parliament Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

No any specific timeframe has been set to complete the preparation of the lists

A six-member parliamentary sub-committee, headed by MP Shajahan Khan, has been formed to prepare lists of those who collaborated with the Pakistani occupation forces during the 1971 Liberation War.

The parliamentary team will work on enlisting and publishing the lists of anti-liberation forces, including Jamaat-e Islami, Razakar, Al-Badr, Al-Shams and Peace Committee.

The sub-committee was formed on Sunday at the 12th meeting of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the Liberation War Affairs Ministry, with its Chairman Shajahan in the chair, at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.

“We’ll entrust all commanders of every upazila with the collective responsibility of enlisting the names of collaborators [in their respective upazilas]. It’s the commanders who will actually do it,” Shajahan told UNB.

The MPs will also be asked to facilitate and monitor the tasks in their respective constituency, he said.

“We’ll provide the names to the Liberation War Affairs Ministry to publish the lists,” said the former shipping minister.

Shajahan Khan, however, said they did not set any specific timeframe to complete the preparation of the lists as the process will take huge time.

At the meeting, the parliamentary watchdog recommended the ministry to sit in a meeting with the law minister and the attorney general for the quick disposal of 24 legal cases of different agencies under the ministry.

Committee members Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque, Rajiuddin Ahmed (Narsingdi 5), Maj (retd) Rafiqul Islam Bir Uttam (Chandpur 5), AB Tajul Islam (Brahmanbaria 6) and Moslem Uddin Ahmed (Chittagong 8) attended the meeting.

The Liberation War Affairs secretary and other high officials were also present.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail