• Thursday, Dec 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

14th session of 11th JS begins Wednesday afternoon

  • Published at 04:45 pm August 31st, 2021
File photo shows a general view of the parliament building Dhaka Tribune

Due to the outbreak of Covid-19 pandemic, the upcoming parliamentary session will be held on a limited scale with the presence of very few MPs like the previous two sessions

The 14th session of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad (JS) will begin at 5pm Wednesday at the Parliament Complex at Sher-e-Bangla Nagar here.

Earlier, President M Abdul Hamid convened the session exercising the power bestowed upon him as per the Clause (1) of Article 72 (1) of the Constitution.

Before commencing the House proceedings on the day, the Parliamentary Business Advisory Committee is likely to hold a meeting with Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair to fix the duration and agendas of the session.

There is an obligation, according to the Constitution, to convene the parliament session within 60 days gap after the end of a session.

The 13th (budget) session of the parliament was prorogued on July 3, starting on June 2.  

The 13th session placed and passed the national budget for the 2021-22 fiscal within the 12 working days.

A total of 15:32 hours of discussion took place on the budgetary allocation with the participation of 85 lawmakers both from the members of the treasury and the opposition benches.

Also Read - JS session: DMP bans carrying arms, explosives in parliament area

Seven government bills were passed in the last session, the National Parliament secretariat spokesman said.

He hinted that due to the outbreak of Covid-19 pandemic, the upcoming parliamentary session will be held on a limited scale with the presence of very few MPs like previous two sessions.

Meanwhile, Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) has imposed a restriction on carrying all kinds of weapons, explosives, other harmful and polluting substances and holding any kind of rallies, processions, demonstrations at the vicinities of the Parliament Complex from Tuesday's midnight to the end of the sittings of the parliamentary session.

An official release, signed by the DMP Commissioner Mohammad Shafiqul Islam, said the ban will be imposed from Mohakhali Crossing of Mymensingh Road to Banglamotor Intersection via Old Airport, from West of Banglamotor Link Road to SARRC Fountain of Hotel Sonargaon Road, from the eastern end of Panthapath to the intersection of Green Road and Farmgate, from Shyamoli Intersection of Mirpur Road to Dhanmondi-16 (Old-27) Number Road’s intersection, from the intersection of Rokeya Sarani to the old Ninth Division (Airplane) crossing via Parjaton Intersection of the Bijoy Sarani, from the eastern end of Indira Road to the western end of the Manik Mia Avenue, the reserved area of the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban and all the roads and streets surrounded within this boundary.

This restriction would continue till the end of the parliamentary session, it added.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail