• Tuesday, Jan 18, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:32 am

Elections to 14 upazilas, 4 municipalities today

  • Published at 01:34 am March 6th, 2017
  • Last updated at 10:14 am March 6th, 2017
Elections to 14 upazilas, 4 municipalities today
EC Secretary Mohammed Abdullah on Sunday told the press that they had already taken all the necessary preparations to hold the elections in a fair and free manner. He added that they had instructed electoral officials to remain alert so none could demonstrate high-handedness against laws during the polls. “The previous EC drew a lot of flak from all strata. The new EC is therefore much more careful about holding the elections in a fair and peaceful manner, as part of which we have held several meetings with officials concerned,” Abdullah added. Election Commissioner Mahbub Talukder said: “The reputation of the new EC largely depends on the elections.” When asked about BNP’s allegations that the EC was taking no heed of its complaints about electoral irregularities, Abdullah said: “It is not true that we are not taking any complaint into consideration. The complaints should be based on concrete evidence, without which we cannot go for action. “There will be executive magistratElections to 14 upazilas, 4 municipalities today es in all the constituencies, where the elections are taking place. They will take action if there is any anomaly.” Electoral areas The three upazilas where voters will elect chairmen, vice-chairmen and female vice-chairpersons are Osmaninagar of Sylhet, Guimara of Khagrachhari, and Jagannathpur of Sunamganj. The upazilas where by-polls will take place are: Banaripara and Gournadi upazilas of Barisal, Adarsha sadar upazila of Comilla, Sujanagar of Pabna, Hossainpur of Kishoreganj, Boraigram of Natore, Jaldhaka of Nilphamari, Kalaroya of Satkhira, Morrelganj of Bagerhat, Rangabali of Patuakhali, and Ishwardi of Pabna. The four municipalities are Golachipa of Patuakhali, Sakhipur of Tangail and Arani of Rajshahi, and Sherpur of Sherpur. Elections to four other upazilas -- Kurigram sadar, Kathalia of Jhalakathi, and Comilla sadar (south) and Chauddagram upazilas – will not be held as candidates there have already been elected uncontested.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail