• Monday, Jul 04, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Voting in Rangpur city polls ends peacefully

  • Published at 09:05 am December 21st, 2017
  • Last updated at 11:43 pm December 21st, 2017
Voting in Rangpur city polls ends peacefully
The polls of the much-hyped Rangpur City Corporation ended peacefully on Thursday despite BNP's allegations that the ruling party had been out to manipulate the elections to get its own candidates elected. The voting started in a festive mood at 8am and ended at 4pm. The success or failure of the KM Nurul Huda-led Election Commission is riding on this election since the RpCC polls is its second major election and a crucial test for the commission ahead of the next general elections in 2018. Security measures have been ramped up to ensure that voters face no hassle while casting their ballots at the polling centres, and return home safely, according to elections and law enforcement agency officials. [caption id="attachment_235250" align="aligncenter" width="800"] Female voters wait to register votes in a polling centre in Rangpur city on Thursday, December 21, 2017 Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune[/caption] Rangpur City Corporation currently has 393,994 voters. There are 193 voting centres around the city with 1,122 polling booths. Seven contenders are vying for the mayor post in the RpCC polls while 211 aspirants are contesting for the general councillor posts in 33 wards and 65 women candidates for 11 reserved seat councillor posts. In the mayoral race, there is a triangular fight among Sarfuddin Ahmed of Awami League, Md Mostafizur Rahman of Jatiya Party and Kawsar Jahan Babla of BNP, locals said. [caption id="attachment_235192" align="aligncenter" width="800"] From left, Sarfuddin Ahmed of Awami League, and Kawsar Jahan Babla of BNP and Md Mostafizur Rahman of Jatiya Party--the three front-line contenders of mayoral race at the Rangpur City Corporation polls, slated to be held Thursday, December 21, 2017 Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune[/caption] Incumbent mayor Sharfuddin Ahmed cast his vote at the Salema Girls’ High School in the city’s 24th ward at 10am. “Voting has been fair,” he told reporters afterwards. “If voting continues in this way we will win,” he said. BNP candidate Kawsar Zaman Babla cast his vote at 8:45am at the Dewantuli Government Primary School centre in the 29th ward. “We have expressed our concern regarding the polls from the beginning,” he told reporters. “We are still worried. If there is no fraud and the vote is fair, we will accept the decision of the people.” Jatiya Party’s Mostafizur Rahman Mostafa cast his ballot at the Alamnagar College Road Government Primary School centre in the 22nd ward around 9:30am. “I will accept the people’s verdict,” he said. “It has been a peaceful and fair vote. People are not worried.” [caption id="attachment_235216" align="aligncenter" width="800"] Voters going to the polling centres to cast their votes in Rangpur City Corporation (RpCC) on Thursday December 21, 2017 Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune[/caption] Earlier on Wednesday, Chief Election Commissioner Nurul Huda expressed hope that the election will be held in a credible manner. Alongside over 5,500 law enforcers, 11 judicial magistrates and 33 executive magistrates will be in the election area to check any possible breach of the election code of conduct and election violence. Bomb disposal units and dog squads of Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) are also patrolling the polling areas as a precaution against any untoward situation. Earlier, Rangpur Deputy Commissioner Wahiduzzaman also informed that 24 police and Ansar personnel, including 14 armed personnel, would be deployed to each of the polling centres during the voting. For every two polling centres, a patrol unit comprising members of police, Border Guard Bangladesh and RAB, will be deployed.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail