• Friday, Jul 01, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

BNP selects Tabith for DNCC by-polls

  • Published at 10:32 pm January 15th, 2018
  • Last updated at 02:18 am January 16th, 2018
BNP selects Tabith for DNCC by-polls
BNP has finalized its selection of Tabith Mohammed Awal as the mayoral candidate for the Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) by-polls. The party's Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir made the announcement around 11:15pm on Monday after a meeting of the BNP nomination board. The board, headed by BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia, took the final decision after interviewing the five nomination seekers at the chairperson's office in Gulshan. BNP central executive committee member Tabith, the son of BNP leader and business tycoon Abdul Awal Mintoo, had an unsuccessful run against late mayor Annisul Haque in 2015, losing by almost 135,000 votes. Competing against Tabith for BNP's nomination were Dhaka city (North) unit President MA Quayum; Dhaka city (North) unit Assistant Publication Secretary Shakil Wahed; BNP’s central leader Asaduzzaman Ripon and BNP leader Maj (retd) Akhtaruzzaman. They had submitted their nomination forms to the BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi at the party's Naya Paltan headquarters on Monday. Meanwhile, until Monday, 18 people seeking Awami League's candidacy to run for the DNCC mayor post submitted their nomination papers to Office Secretary Abdus Sobhan Golap at the ruling party president’s political office in Dhanmondi. Those who submitted the forms are: former BGMEA president Atiqul Islam; Bangabandhu researcher and poet Russell Ashequi; Abaid Monsur, businessman and son-in-law of former communications minister Abul Hossain; Maj (retd) Yead Al Fakir; Awami League Tejgaon upazila unit General Secretary Shamim Hasan; Momtaz Uddin Ahmed Mehedi; Abul Bashar; Haque Group MD Adam Tamizi Haque; Dhaka University teacher Jobair Alam; former lawmaker HBM Iqbal; Mohammad Shah Alam; Farhad Hossain, Helaluddin Helal, Osman Gani, Jaman Bhuiyan, Asma Jerin Jhumu, Shaheen Haque and Jebin Sultana Kanta. The ruling party will formally pick their candidate after a meeting of its Local Government Nomination Board on Tuesday at Ganabhaban, the official residence of party chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. The DNCC by-election is scheduled to be held on February 26. The nominated candidates will fight for the DNCC mayor post which fell vacant on November 30 last year through the death of Annisul Huq, the first ever DNCC mayor. Annisul, also a former president of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry, had won the polls as an Awami League-endorsed candidate in 2015. The Election Commission on February 26 will also arrange polls for the 36 councillor posts and 12 reserved seats in the 36 new wards of DNCC, which has some 2.95 million voters. According to the commission, January 18 is the last date for the submission of nomination papers by DNCC by-polls contenders. Anyone willing to pull out of the mayoral race will have to do so by January 29. According to the schedule, nomination papers will be scrutinized between January 21 and 22. The commission will allocate electoral symbols on January 30.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail