• Tuesday, Nov 29, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

PM Hasina orders Chhatra League to stay beside the demonstrating students

  • Published at 03:44 pm August 3rd, 2018
Bangladesh Chhatra league's new President Rejwanul Haque Choudhury Shovon and General Secretary Golam Rabbani greet Prime Minister and Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina with a bouquet before a meeting at Ganabhaban on Wednesday, August 1, 2018 Focus Bangla

‘Take care of their protest so that outsiders do not get any chance to sabotage the movement’

Prime Minister and Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina has reportedly ordered the new leadership of Bangladesh Chhatra League to support the students in their ongoing movement for safer roads.

She gave the orders when the new leaders of the central committee and several other units of the ruling party student wing called on her official residence, Ganabhaban, in Dhaka on Wednesday, according to media reports.

The reports quoted several Chhatra League leaders as saying that one of the leaders from the new committees had raised the issue of the students’ movement during their meet and greet with the prime minister. 

In response, Hasina said: "This is a tragic issue. Two lives have been lost. I was very shocked.

“It’s very normal for their classmates to grieve too. Their demands are also logical. So be with them. And be alert so that no outsiders can infiltrate and take advantage of their movement.”

At the time, another Chhatra League leader asked whether they could hold programs to mourn the two college students who died on July 29 under the wheels of a speeding bus on Airport Road, which led to a nationwide movement of students demanding justice for the victims and safe roads.

Also Read- Chhatra League gets new president, secretary

The Awami League chief said: “You are now leaders, do what you think is best. Why do I have to tell you everything?”

She also told the new leaders: “Now you have power in your hands. Never abuse it. Form new committees after thorough evaluation. No debate must take place over this.”

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader last Tuesday night had announced the names of the new Chhatra League leaders, nearly two months after the organization’s latest National Council.

The new leaders who met the prime minister on Wednesday included Chhatra league President Rejwanul Haque Choudhury Shovon and General Secretary Golam Rabbani; the organization’s Dhaka metropolitan (north) unit President Md Ibrahim and General Secretary Saidur Rahman Hridoy; Dhaka metropolitan (south) unit President Mehedi Hasan and General Secretary Md Jobayer Ahmed; and Dhaka University unit’s President Sonjit Chandra Das and General Secretary Md Saddam Hussain.

The president and general secretary of the last committee, Saifur Rahman Sohag and SM Jakir Hossain, were also present.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail