• Saturday, May 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Is Bangladesh on the cusp of electing its first transgender MP?

  • Published at 05:59 pm January 16th, 2019
Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

The MPs elected to the parliament during the polls will vote among themselves to elect the 50 reserved MPs on February 17

In the aftermath of the parliamentary elections, nominations for the reserved seats for women are being sought after, with some pleasantly surprising candidates.

Awami League Deputy Office Secretary Biplob Barua have confirmed that eight members of the transgender community have filed their nominations with the party.

Also Read- Transgender community celebrates recognition date

Arifa Yasmin Moyuri, one of the aspirants, had led a transgender delegation in September 2018 to meet Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, to thank her for removing socio-economic barriers to the community.

Transgenders buying nomination forms at the Awami League president's office in Dhanmondi on January 16, 2019 | Dhaka Tribune

Moyuri is the president of “Siri Samaj Kalyan Sangstha”, a transgender welfare organization based in Jamalpur.

Falguni, another aspirant, said: “We are citizens of Bangladesh but we have no representation in the parliament. There is no one from our community who can understand and raise our concerns. That is why we are running for the seats.”

Bangladesh’s transgender community, colloquially referred as “hijra,” had been neglected for decades. An estimated 10,000 to half a million – of Bangladesh’s population of about 160 million – belong to the hijra community.

The Awami League government has made great strides in improving the living and working conditions of the transgender community through numerous causes and actions. The third gender is acknowledged in all government official documentation and they are provided with equal opportunities. The competition to be elected to the parliament is but the latest step.

The MPs elected to the parliament during the polls will vote among themselves to elect the 50 reserved MPs on February 17.

Awami League will nominate to 43 seats, the Jatiya Party will seat four, BNP will seat one, and independent coalitions will seat two.

On March 30, 2015, Labannya Hijra witnessed the murder of secular blogger Washikur Rahman, by Islamist radicals, on a Dhaka street. Labannya accosted the attackers and her courageous intervention led to the arrest of two men—who later confessed to the killing.

After Labannya’s heroic actions, the government announced plans to recruit hijras as traffic police— a move welcomed widely. Furthermore, the central bank instructed financial institutions to spend a portion of their corporate social responsibility funds for the welfare of the transgender community.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail