• Tuesday, Oct 04, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

BNP criticizes Sultan Mansur’s oath taking

  • Published at 12:34 pm March 7th, 2019
BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi addresses a press conference at the party's Naya Paltan central office on Thursday, March 7, 2019 Collected

Gono Forum MP-elect Sultan Mohammad Mansur swore his oath as an MP in the 11th parliament on Thursday

BNP has called Gono Forum MP-elect Sultan Mohammad Mansur's oath taking "a fraudulent act.” 

"His party has said they will take action against him," BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi said during a press conference at the party's Naya Paltan central office on Thursday. "I just want to say they will turn into mass enemies, for breaching commitment and political fraudulence."

When asked whether BNP had made a mistake in allowing Mansur to use BNP's symbol in the December 30 election, Rizvi declined to reply.

Sultan Mohammad Mansur, who was elected MP from Moulvibazar 2 constituency in the December 30 polls, stood as a Gono Forum candidate from the Jatiya Oikya Front alliance, using BNP's electoral symbol the sheaf of paddy.

He took his oath as an MP of the 11th parliament around 11am on Thursday, going against Jatiya Oikya Front's decision.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath at the National Parliament.

On March 3, two Gono Forum MPs-elect sent separate letters to the speaker, asking her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on March 7, the anniversary of Bangabandhu’s historic speech at the then Race Course Maidan in 1971.

However, MP-elect Mokabbir Khan from Sylhet 2 seat- the other Gono Forum leader- did not swear his oath on Thursday due to "unavoidable reasons.”

BNP, along with Gono Forum and some other parties, participated in the December 30 election as a coalition under the banner of Jatiya Oikya Front. However, BNP only managed to bag six seats, while Gono Forum won two. 

The alliance rejected the election results, bringing allegations of "massive vote robbery,” and said their candidates would not join the parliament.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail