• Monday, Feb 06, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Gono Forum’s Mokobbir to be sworn in Tuesday

  • Published at 12:14 pm April 1st, 2019
web_Mukobbir Khan
File photo of Gono Forum Leader Mokobbir Khan who contested and won from Sylhet 2 constituency during the 11th general election Collected

Mokobbir Khan won from Sylhet 2 in the last general election

Gono Forum's second MP-elect, Mokobbir Khan from Sylhet 2 constituency, will be sworn-in on Tuesday in the footsteps of the party’s first MP, Sultan Mohammad Mansur Ahmed.

In response to a letter sent by Mokobbir to Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on Monday, an arrangement has been made to administer his oath at 12pm on Tuesday at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.

Gono Forum’s Central Executive Committee member, Maj (retd) Afsary Ameen Ahmed, gave the letter to parliament around 4:40pm.

Also Read-  Gono Forum leader Sultan Mansur takes oath as MP

On Gono Forum letterhead, the letter said Mokobbir’s party was in favour of him taking the MP oath of office, either on April 2 or 3.

Talking to UNB, Mokobbir said he sent the letter upon the decision of their Party Presidium members. "The party leaders and President Dr Kamal Hossain are aware of it."

Replying to a question, he also said Dr Kamal gave him the green signal to take oath. "Besides, the people of my constituency also requested me to be sworn in."

Also Read-  Gono Forum expels Sultan Mansur

On March 7, Sultan Mansur took oath oath of office as a member of the 11th parliament from Moulvibazar 2 constituency.

His party, however, expelled Sultan Mansur hours after he was sworn-in.

On March 3, both Gono Forum MPs-elect had sent separate letters to the speaker requesting her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on March 7.

However, Mokobbir backed out at the last minute.

Also Read-  Gono Forum MP backs out of taking oath

BNP, Gono Forum, and some other parties, participated in the last general election held on December 30, 2018 in alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikya Front.

BNP bagged six seats and Gono Forum two, and Awami League won by a landslide.

Oikya Front rejected the election results, alleging “massive vote robbery” by the ruling party and decided not to join parliament.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail