• Wednesday, May 18, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

BNP's Zahidur takes oath as MP

  • Published at 01:38 pm April 25th, 2019
BNP's MP Zahidur Rahman is taking oath administered by Speaker of Parliament Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury BSS

According to a BNP source, Zahidur could be expelled from the party

BNP leader Zahidur Rahman has taken oath as a member of the 11th parliament from Thakurgaon 3 constituency, violating the party's decision.

Speaker of parliament Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath taking ceremony around 12:30pm on Thursday, confirmed Tarek Mahmud, director (public relations) of the Parliament Secretariat.

Meanwhile, BNP chairperson's media wing member Shayrul Kabir Khan said: "The party does not know anything about Zahidur Rahman taking oath.

"We tried to contact our Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir regarding this, but were unable to reach him."

Among the six elected MPs from BNP in the 11th general election, Zahidur is the only one who has taken oath by violating the party's decision of not being a part of the recently formed parliament.

According to a BNP source, Zahidur could be expelled from the party.

Zahidur won from the Thakurgaon 3 constituency with 88,510 votes. His nearest competitor, independent candidate, Imdadul Haque, got 84,385 votes. 

After taking oath, Zahidur told reporters that he took oath knowing that his party may expel him for violating its decision.

Asked what he will do if BNP expels him, he said the party can take any decision. "I'm a devoted worker of the party. I've been involved with the party for nearly 38 years since I was a student. So, I'll be with it, no matter what decision it takes."

Also Read- BNP criticizes Sultan Mansur’s oath taking

He also said he would place the demand in parliament for BNP chief Khaleda Zia's release from jail.BNP, Gono Forum and some other parties had joined the December 30 polls in alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikya Front. BNP bagged six seats while Gono Forum two in the election.

The alliance later turned down the election results bringing the allegation of “massive vote robbery” by the ruling party and decided not to join parliament.

However, Gono Forum's Sultan Mohammad Mansur (Moulvibazar 2) and Mokobbir Khan (Sylhet 2) were sworn in on March 7 and April 2, respectively, as MPs. Mansur was expelled from the party after he took oath, while Gono Forum is yet to decide Mokobbir’s fate.

Zahidur said he defied the party decision to fulfil the hopes and expectations of the people of his constituency. "I waited for a long time. But the people of my constituency mounted huge pressure on me to take oath."

Replying to a question whether he talked to BNP leaders over taking oath, he said he contacted them and met them a few days back, but did not get their consent to be sworn in. "The party is still hell bent on its decision not to take oath."

The BNP MP also said he will urge the prime minister to withdraw the “false” cases filed against their party leaders and activists.

With Zahid's oath taking, 295 out of 300 MPs-elect in the last general polls have so far been sworn in. The five other BNP MPs-elect must take oath by April 29 if they want to remain members of the current parliament.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail