• Thursday, Aug 18, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Chhatra League committee fiasco: 17 leaders to be suspended

  • Published at 09:12 am May 16th, 2019
Different factions of Chhatra League activists seen engaged in clash inside Madhur Canteen at Dhaka University campus on Monday, May 13, 2019 Dhaka Tribune

PM Sheikh Hasina had instructed Chhatra League's top brass to suspend the individuals

Ruling party Awami League's student front, Bangladesh Chhatra League, has decided to suspend its 17 leaders over allegations of breaching the organizational code of conduct and controversial activities.

"As per the instruction of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, we have identified 17 leaders who are accused in cases and controversies. We are giving them 24 hours to prove their innocence. Otherwise we will suspend them from committee," said Chhatra League General Secretary Golam Rabbani.

Rabbani said this at a press briefing at the Awami League president's Dhanmondi political office on Wednesday night.

Before the press briefing, Rezwanul Haque Chowdhury Shovon and Rabbani discussed the issue with Awami League joint general secretaries Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Abdur Rahman.

Also Read- Chhatra League committee fiasco: PM Hasina wants controversial leaders excluded

Shovon said: "We will not only take action against the controversial characters  but will take action against leaders who have tarnished the organization's image."

A total of 16 names, among which 13 are vice-presidents, have been announced by the organization 

The names and allegations against them are as follows:

The 13 vice-presidents are: Tanjil Bhuiyan Tanvir (over the age limit), Suranjan Ghosh (over the age limit), Mohammad Arefin Siddique Suzon (drug addiction), Atikur Rahman Khan (drug addiction), Barkat Hossain Hawlader (misbehaviour with teacher), Shahriar Kabir Bidyut (violating organizational ethics), Mahmudul Hasan Tushar (affiliation with anti-liberation party), Mahmudul Hasan (violating organizational ethics), Aminul Islam Bulbul (facing a criminal case), Sadik Khan (married), SM Taufiqul Hasan Sagor (family affiliated with anti-liberation forces), Sohani Hasan Tithi (married), Munmun Nahar Boisakhi (married). 

The remaining are: Office Secretary Ahsan Habib (job holder), Deputy Library Affairs Secretary Rushi Chowdhuri (married), and Deputy Cultural Affairs Secretary Afrin Labony (married).

One name was dropped from the list — that of Joint-Secretary Paradip Chowdhury. Allegations were raised against him for his affiliation with Islami Chhatra Shibir — which is impossible as he belongs to the Hindu community. He cannot be an activist of Jamaat-e-Islami’s student wing, confirmed General Secretary Golam Rabbani.

On Wednesday, PM Sheikh Hasina—also the chief of the student front—ordered Chhatra League leaders to drop controversial leaders from its recently-announced full-fledged central committee.

The organisation announced its 301-member full-fledged central committee on Monday, a year after its National Council was held.

Hours after the announcement, at least 50 leaders and activists who did not get their desired posts, organized a press briefing at Madhur Canteen in Dhaka University, that evening. However, hundreds of Chhatra League leaders and activists attacked and foiled the briefing soon after it started.