• Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Awami League hopes for quick resolution of Teesta river dispute

  • Published at 07:09 am May 24th, 2019
Web-Obaidul-Quader-File photo
File photo of Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader, who is also the general secretary of ruling Awami League Dhaka Tribune

“During Modi's last term, we were able to solve many bilateral issues. We hope that he will continue to work towards solving all other disputes—including that of sharing Teesta's water.”

Top brass of the ruling Awami League hopes that the dispute between India and Bangladesh over sharing the Teesta river waters will be resolved soon, as Narendra Modi has come to power again.

The ruling party also hopes that a high-level meeting of the Joint River Commission (JRC) will be held very soon. The last meeting of the JRC was held in 2010 but did not result in an amicable solution to the dispute.

While speaking at a press briefing held at the Awami League president's political office in Dhanmondi yesterday, Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader said he hoped that all disputes between Bangladesh and India would be resolved under the renewed leadership of Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

He added: “During Modi's last term, we were able to solve many bilateral issues. We hope that he will continue to work towards solving all other disputes—including that of sharing Teesta's water.”

Quader, also the Minister of Road Transport and Bridges, mentioned that Modi had contributed to solving long-standing border disputes in his last term as prime minister, including the enclave dispute in 2015.

Awami League presidium member and spokesperson of the 14-party alliance, Mohammad Nasim, also hoped that the disputes between Bangladesh and India would be solved under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Modi.

“There is a strong friendship between Bangladesh and India, and under the leadership of Sheikh Hasina and Narendra Modi; it will continue,” Nasim added.

In 2011 an interim deal that was supposed to last for 15 years, gave India 42.5% and Bangladesh 37.5% of Teesta river's water.

During Modi’s last term, the issue was discussed several times between both countries but the deal could not be inked due to opposition from West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

But this year, BJP won 18 crucial seats in West Bengal while Mamata Banerjee’s All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) secured 22 seats. In the previous term, the TMC had won 34 seats while the BJP had won only two.

This time, Awami League leaders hope that BJP will work as pressure group and convince Mamata Banerjee to agree with Modi over the Teesta agreement.

According to a 2013 report by the Asian Foundation, Bangladesh's flood plain covers about 14% of the total cropped area of the country and provides direct livelihood opportunities to approximately 73% of its population.

Previously in 1972, the JRC has been established by India and Bangladesh in the Indo-Bangla Treaty of Friendship.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail