• Saturday, Dec 10, 2022
  • Last Update : 08:54 am

Awami League gets 3 new presidium members

  • Published at 08:34 am December 21st, 2019
Shajahan Khan, left, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, center, Abdur Rahman Collected

The announcement was made in the 2nd session of the two-day long Awami League's 21st National Council

Shajahan Khan, Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Abdur Rahman have been made new presidium members of Awami League.

The announcement was made in the second session of the two-day long Awami League's 21st National Council at the Institution of Engineers, Bangladesh (IEB) in Dhaka on Saturday morning.

Prior to this announcement, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader were reelected as president and general secretary of the party respectively for the next three years.


Old faces

New faces

Presidium member

Sajeda Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Matia Chowdhury

Shahjahan Khan, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Abdur Rahman

Mohammad Nasim, Kazi Zafar Ullah


Advocate Sahara Khatun, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Syed Ashraful Islam


Pijush Kanti Bhattacharya, Nurul Islam Nahid, Dr Md Abdur Razzak


Lt Col (retd) Muhammad Faruq Khan, Ramesh Chandra Sen


Advocate Abdul Mannan Khan, Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru


Joint General Secretary

Mahbubul Hanif, Dipu Moni

Dr Hasan Mahmud, AFM Bahauddin Nasim

Organizational Secretary

Ahmed Hossain, BM Mozammel Hoque, Abu Sayeed Al Mahmud Swapan

SM Kamal, Mirza Azam

International Affairs Secretary

 Shammi Ahmed

Law Secretary


Najibullah Hiru

Office Secretary


Bar Biplob Barua

Publication Secretary


Abdus Sobhan Golap

Women's Affairs Secretary


Meher Afroze Chumki

On behalf of all councilors, Sheikh Hasina’s name was proposed by Abdul Matin Khasru as Awami League president, while Jahangir Kabir Nanak proposed Obaidul Quader’s name as general secretary.

The two-day long 21st National Council of Bangladesh Awami League, one of the oldest and largest political parties in the country, began on Friday.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, the longest-serving president in the history of the party, inaugurated the council on Friday.

Around 7,500 councillors, 15,000 delegates, and 5,000 special guests joined the opening ceremony, according to party insiders. Several thousands of party followers and activists from all over the country congregated near the venue of the triennial mega event.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail