• Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

AL picks Rezaul for CCC election, Shafiul for Dhaka 10 by-polls

  • Published at 05:21 pm February 15th, 2020
Razaul Shafiul
Rezaul Karim Chowdhury (Left) and Md Shafiul Islam UNB

The decisions have been taken at a joint meeting of Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) and Local Government Nomination Board

Awami League has picked Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, joint general secretary of Chittagong city unit of the party, to contest the Chittagong City Corporation (CCC) mayoral election.

The ruling party also nominated former president of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) Md Shafiul Islam (Mohiuddin) for the by-polls to Dhaka 10 constituency.

Besides, Umme Kulsum Smrity has been chosen for Gaibandha 3 by-election while Shahin Chakladar for Jessore 6, Amirul Islam Milon for Bagerhat 4 and Sahadara Mannan for Bogra 1 by-polls.

The decisions were taken at a joint meeting of Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) and Local Government Nomination Board meeting.

The party President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting at her official Ganabhaban residence in Dhaka on Saturday. 

By-elections to Gaibandha 3, Bagerhat 4, and Dhaka 10 constituencies will be held on March 21.

As per the schedules announced by the Election Commission on February 6, the deadline for the submission of nomination paper is February 19, while the date for scrutinizing the nomination papers is February 23, and the last date for the withdrawal of candidacy is February 29.

The commission is likely to announce the polls schedules for the CCC election, and Bogra 1 and Jessore 6 parliamentary by-polls on Sunday. 

The Gaibandha 3 and Bagerhat 4 constituencies fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Dr M Eunus Ali Sarkar and Dr Mozammel Hossain.

The Dhaka 10 fell vacant as Awami League MP Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29 to contest the Dhaka South City Corporation election.

The Bogra 1 and Jessore 6 constituencies fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Abdul Mannan and Ismat Ara Sadique.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail