• Sunday, Nov 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

AL focusing on polls, BNP on election-time government

  • Published at 05:00 pm September 28th, 2021
Election Mehehdi
File Photo: A polling officer marks a voter with ink during Dhaka city polls 2020 on Saturday, February 1, 2020 Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

Election Commission to be reformed in February next year

The ruling Awami League has already begun preparations for the next general election, to be held at the end of 2023. 

On the other hand, the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) is focused on ensuring that the polls are held under a neutral government, claiming that a fair election is not possible under the incumbent administration.

The tenure of the current Election Commission will run out in February next year, but both parties have said they are not worried about it. The existing five-member Election Commission headed by Chief Election Commissioner AKM Nurul Huda was instituted through a search committee in 2017.

Prior to leaving the country to attend the UN General Assembly in New York about two weeks ago, Prime Minister and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina instructed party members to begin preparations for the next general election during a meeting at Ganabhaban.

Leaders of the BNP central committee have held several meetings since then.

Also Read - Obaidul Quader: New Election Commission to be constituted as per law

A joint general secretary of the Awami League on Monday told this correspondent the formation of a new Election Commission had not been discussed at party forums. However, a new EC would likely be formed after discussions with all other parties, as always.

Awami League Joint General Secretary Mahbubul Alam Hanif said: “We will now prepare our election manifesto and work towards making the party stronger by the next election.”

BNP Vice Chairman Shamsuzzaman Dudu told Dhaka Tribune it did not matter who was on the next Election Commission.

“The only thing that matters is who is leading the electoral government. If Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina leads the election-time government as she did in 2014 and 2018, then the elections will not be held fairly, as we have seen before,” he said.

Also Read - BNP’s mid-ranking leaders for movement seeking polls-time government

Regarding the party’s preparations for the election, Dudu said it was always ready to participate in the polls, but the real question was about the transparency of the polls.

“We do not think a fair election is possible under any political government. A fair election is only possible if an election-time government is set up before the election in the form of a caretaker or neutral government,” he added. 

The tenure of the current Election Commission ends on February 15, 2022.

Quader: Who is BNP’s prime ministerial candidate?

Meanwhile, AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader on Monday asked who the BNP’s prime ministerial candidate would be at the next election.

“Our party president, Sheikh Hasina, is the Awami League’s candidate for prime minister. Who is the BNP’s candidate?” he said.

BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia is currently under house arrest after being convicted in corruption cases. Acting BNP chairperson Tareq Rahman lives in London and also faces corruption charges.

Shamsuzzaman Dudu said: “Khaleda Zia is still our prime ministerial candidate. If she cannot be for some reason, then acting chairperson Tareq Rahman will be the candidate.

Also Read - BNP: AL-backed middlemen behind price hike

“The Awami League can learn from the last election in Kolkata; Mamata Banarjee is now getting elected as chief minister after the general election in a by-poll. This option is still in our constitution."

When contacted, BNP standing committee member Nazrul Islam Khan told Dhaka Tribune party leaders were not thinking about the next general election yet.

“We are setting goals to foil this undemocratic government. We believe no fair election is possible under this government. We are not thinking of discussing the election with this government anymore,” he said.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail