• Wednesday, Oct 05, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

PM to open 100% power coverage in 31 upazilas Thursday

  • Published at 02:08 pm August 26th, 2020
file photo of pm -prime minister-Sheikh Hasina
File photo of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina Focus Bangla

State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid will be connected to the function from his ministry office

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is set to inaugurate cent percent electrification in 31 upazilas of the country alongside newly built two power plants, 11 grid substations, and six transmission lines on Thursday.

“The premier will open cent percent electrification in 31 upazilas of 18 districts, two power plants, 11 grid sub-stations and six new transmission lines through a virtual conferencing from her official Ganabhaban residence tomorrow morning,” a source at the Prime Minister’s Office told BSS on Wednesday.

State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid will be connected to the function from his ministry office.

Director (Public Relations) of Bangladesh Power Development Board (BPDB) Saiful Hasan Chowdhury told BSS on Tuesday that the two power plants to be opened by the premier are: 110MW power plant of Confidence Power Bogra-1 Ltd and 113MW power plant of HF Power Ltd, Noakhali.

He said the prime minister will open Mohasthangar 132/33KV, Rajshahi (North) 132/33KV, Chauddagram 132/33KV, Bhaluka 132/33KV, Benapole 132/33KV and Shariatpur 132/33KV substations under the National Power Transmission Network Development Project.

Besides, she will inaugurate Shyampur 230/132KV substation under 400/230/132KV Grid Network Development Project, Sherpur 132/33KV and Kurigram 132/33KV under Enhancement of Capacity of Grid Substation and Transmission Line for Rural Electrification Project, Narail 132/33KV under Rural Electrification Project and Rajendrapur 132/33KV under Rajendrapur 132/33KV GIS (Gas Insulated Switchgear) Grid Sub-station Construction Project, Saiful said.

The six transmission lines to be inaugurated by the premier are Patuakhali-(Payra)-Gopalganj 400KV transmission line, Jessore-Benapole 132KV transmission line, Shariatpur-Madaripur 132 transmission line, Teesta-Kurigram 132 transmission line, Magura-Narail 132 transmission line and Patuakhali-Payra 230KV transmission line.

The upazilas which are coming under cent percent power coverage are: Nabinagar, Sarail and Ashuganj in Brahmanbaria district, Faridganj and Kachua in Chandpur, Barura and Muradnagar in Comilla, Bhanga and Boalmari in Faridpur district, Sadullapur in Gaibandha district, Jhenaidah Sadar in Jhenaidah district, Saiful said.

Other upazilas which will be brought under cent percent electricity coverage tomorrow are Manikganj Sadar, Daulatpur, Singair and Shibalaya in Manikganj district, Rajnagar in Moulvibazar district, Manda, Dhamoirhat and Sapahar in Naogaon district, Domar in Nilphamari district, Begumganj in Noakhali district, Mirzaganj in Patuakhali district, Rajbari sadar, Pangsha and Baliakandi in Rajbari district, Baghmara in Rajshahi district, Satkhira Sadar in Satkhira district, Zakiganj and Osmaninagar in Sylhet district, Raypura in Narsingdi district and Kalkini in Madaripur district.

“The government is moving fast to achieve its goal of generating 24,000 MW power by 2021 and to this end, the premier has given consent to inaugurate the two power plants, 11 grid substations and six new transmission lines along with 100% electrification of 31 upazilas in 18 districts,” Saiful added.

Senior Public Relations Officer of the ministry Mir Aslam Uddin said the prime minister earlier inaugurated 257 upazilas and with the inauguration of 31 upazilas, a total of 288 upazilas will come under cent percent electricity coverage.

“As many as 97% people have already been brought under electricity coverage as the country has now a capacity of producing 23,548 MW electricity,” he added.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail