• Wednesday, Feb 01, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Highest taxpayers’ recognition: 76 individuals, 54 corporations receive tax cards

  • Published at 04:19 pm November 12th, 2018
Noted singer Runa Laila receives a tax card from the Finance Minister AMA Muhith, as the revenue board at a programme held at a local hotel honoured 76 individuals, 54 corporations, and 11 in ‘other’ category for their outstanding contributions in paying taxes on November 12, 2018 Rajib Dhar/ Dhaka Tribune

In addition, national cricketer Shakib Al Hasan topped the list under the player sub-category within the individual category, followed by Tamim Iqbal and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza

The National Board of Revenue (NBR) on Monday gave tax cards to 76 individuals, 54 organizations and 11 other entities under different categories for their outstanding contribution to the national exchequer in the last fiscal year.

Finance Minister AMA Muhith, as the chief guest, handed over the cards along with crests to the highest taxpayers at a Dhaka hotel during a ceremony.

The recognition for the highest taxpayers is mandated by the National Tax Card Policy, 2010 (Amended).

Earlier, an NBR notification issued on November 1 revealed the names of 656 individuals and corporate taxpayers who paid the highest amount of income taxes in different categories in fiscal year 2017-18.

Besides, 63 other individuals and corporations got crests and certificates in  recognition of their contributions as top taxpayers at district and city corporation levels.

There are 13 sub-categories under the individual category, 14 sub-categories under the company category and  four sub-categories under the other entities’ category. 

Individual category

Among the 76 individuals, Golam Dastagir Gazi MP won the tax card under the senior citizen sub-category, Lt Gen (retd.) Abu Saleh Md Nasim under the gazetted injured freedom fighter sub-category, Sukarna Ghosh under the physically challenged sub-category,  Rubaiyat Farzana Hossain under the women sub-category, Nafis Shikder under young (under 40) sub-category and Miah Monika Rafiqolovona under the new taxpayer sub-category.

In addition, national cricketer Shakib Al Hasan topped the list under the player sub-category within the individual category, followed by Tamim Iqbal and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Under the same category, celebrated singer Runa Laila also won a card for becoming a highest taxpayer in her field. 

Company category

Islami Bank Bangladesh Ltd and IDLC Finance Ltd were the top taxpayers under banking and non-banking sub-categories respectively.  State-run Titas Gas paid the highest tax in the energy sector and Janata Jute Mills in the jute industry, with Unilever Bangladesh topping the list of taxpayers under the pharmaceuticals and chemicals sub-category.

Grameenphone was honoured for paying the most tax among the mobile phone operators.

East West Media Group Limited (EWMGL) topped the list of taxpaying companies in print and electronic media sub-category. Bata Shoe Company also gained the same feat under the leather sub-category.

British American Tobacco and Rifat Garments Ltd got the honour in the apparel and 'other'sub-categories respectively.

Speaking at the event, Finance Minister Muhith said the next general election is very important to maintain the economic growth of the country, and achieving the Vision 2041 to make Bangladesh a developed nation.

“The next election is so crucial. It is when we have to decide whether we want to keep the momentum going,” he said, adding that the voters are well aware of the fact and will not make any mistake in this regard.

Chaired by NBR Chairman M Mosharraf Hossain Bhuiyan, State Minister for Finance and Planning MA Mannan was also present at the event.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail