• Saturday, Aug 13, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:54 pm

Supplementary budget of Tk46,516.11 cr for FY2019-20 passed

  • Published at 05:36 pm June 15th, 2020
File photo of Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban Dhaka Tribune

The Finance Division got the highest allocation in the supplementary budget  

Parliament on Monday passed the supplementary budget of Tk46,516.11 crore for the fiscal 2019-20 to meet the increased expenditures under different ministries and divisions.

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal placed the supplementary budget in the House on June 11 along with the national budget for the 2020-21fiscal year.

On Monday, he moved it the parliament following general discussion on the supplementary budget, reports UNB.

Different ministries, divisions and institutions sought the additional amount under 24 demands for grant. As many as 167 cut-motions were moved by ten members.

Discussions were held on two cut-motions – on Social Welfare Ministry and Disaster Management and Relief Ministry.

These cut motions were brought by Jatiya Party MPs Kazi Firoz Rashid, Mujibul Huq, Pir Fazlur Rahman, Fakhrul Imam, Rowshan Ara Mannan, Shamim Haider Patwary, Liaquat Hossain Khoka, BNP MP Md Harunur Rashid, Rumin Farhana, and Gono Forum MP Mukabbir Khan.

However, those cut-motions were rejected by voice votes.

According to the budget document, an amount of Tk523,190 crore was allocated in favour of 62 ministries and divisions for the 2019-20 fiscal year.

But in the supplementary budget, allocations for 26 ministries and divisions have been increased to Tk46516.11 crore while Tk18353.97 crore reduced for 35 ministries and divisions.

As a result, the budget allocations for these ministries and divisions got reduced by Tk21,613 crore and the total allocation now stands at Tk501,577 crore.

The Finance Division got the highest allocation of Tk36,356.45 crore while the Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs got the lowest at Tk1.54 crore.

The Prime Minister’s Office got Tk214.73 crore while Cabinet Division Tk59.88 crore, Supreme Court Tk3.39 crore, Election Commission Secretariat Tk298.58 crore, Public Service Commission Tk18.30 crore, Economic Relations Division Tk65.10 crore, Planning Division Tk379.55 crore, IMED Tk53.34 crore, Statistics and Information Management Division Tk290.60 crore, Defence Ministry Tk454.90 crore, Armed Forces Division Tk92.58 crore, Public Security Division Tk294.12 crore, Social Welfare Ministry Tk12.79 crore, Women and Children Affairs Ministry Tk39.98 crore, Labour and Employment Ministry Tk53.96 crore, Housing and Public Works Ministry Tk842.99 crore, Religious Affairs Ministry Tk527.42 crore, Local Government Division Tk2,808.31 crore, Industries Ministry Tk450.19 crore, Textile and Jute Ministry Tk559.48 crore, Energy and Mineral Resources Division Tk494.57 crore, Water Resources Ministry Tk837.14 crore, Disaster Management and Relief Ministry Tk1232.53 crore and Shipping Ministry Tk73.27 crore.