• Wednesday, Feb 01, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Dhaka Lit Fest participants stand by the Rohingyas

  • Published at 07:44 pm November 19th, 2017
  • Last updated at 02:34 am November 22nd, 2017
Dhaka Lit Fest participants stand by the Rohingyas
Dhaka Lit Fest participants have expressed support for the Rohingya refugees, urging the global community “to stand up and support these refugees, and to hold accountable those who have orchestrated the violence leading to this catastrophe.” Celebrated Syrian poet Adonis, academy award-winning actress Tilda Swinton, Booker Prize-winning novelist Ben Okri, playwright David Hare, historian William Dalrymple, writer Lionel Shriver, and Bangladeshi literary icons Syed Manzoorul Islam and Kaiser Haq, among over 50 other participants of the Fest signed the statement issued on Sunday. The statement has now also been endorsed by Dhaka Lit Fest alumni from years gone by, including Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Vijay Seshadri, writer Nayantara Sahgal, and public intellectual Tariq Ali, among others. The full statement reads: “Since 26 August 2017, over 600,000 Rohingyas have been exiled into neighboring Bangladesh due to a pre-planned and systematic ethnic cleansing by the Myanmar government and army. “This is one of the largest forced migrations in recent times, and puts the Rohingyas as a community at risk of extinction from their native Arakan province. “The participants in the Dhaka Lit Fest express sympathy for the refugees, and wish to keep the news of this unfolding situation at the forefront of global consciousness, as the situation in the refugee camps precipitates what could be an even larger humanitarian crisis due to disease and malnutrition causing the deaths of the vulnerable – the young, the old, the ill and destitute. “The Dhaka Lit Fest urges the global community, governing bodies, rights groups, and media to stand up and support these refugees, and to hold accountable those who have orchestrated the violence leading to this catastrophe.” The participants who signed the statement are: Adonis, Ahsan Akbar, Alex Preston, Ameerah Haq, André Naffis-Sahely, Anisul Hoque, Bee Rowlatt, Belal Ehsan Baaquie, Ben Okri, Catherine Lacey, Charles Glass, David Hare, Deepak Unnikrishnan, Dominic Ziegler, Esther Freud, Fakrul Alam, Firdous Azim, Garga Chatterjee, Jesse Ball, John Makinson, John Ralston Saul, Kaiser Haq, Kamila Shamsie, Kazi Anis Ahmed, Kazi Nabil Ahmed, Kelly Falconer, Khademul Islam, Lionel Shriver, Luba Khalili Luke, Neima Mahrukh, Mohiuddin Mohammed, Hanif Manjula, Narayan Nadeem, Zaman Nadia, Kabir Barb, Nandana Sen, Naomi Hossain, Nasreen Sattar, Nayantara Sahgal, Nicole Farhi, Philip Hensher, Roderick Matthews, Sadaf Saaz, Samrat Choudhury, Sandro Kopp, Shaheen Akhter, Shamsad Mortuza, Sharbari Ahmed, Stephen Alter, Sudeep Chakravarti, Syed Badrul Ahsan, Shobhaa De, Tahmima Anam, Talal Ahmed Chowdhury, Tariq Ali, Tilda Swinton, William Dalrymple, Vijay Seshadri, Zafar Sobhan, Zia Haider Rahman and Zulfiqer Russell.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail