• Wednesday, Jun 29, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm
UNHCR concerned over reports of injured...

UNHCR concerned over reports of injured...

Rohingya Crisis

Mon, May 31 2021

The refugee agency of the global body called for ensuring necessary treatment of the injured

DUFS to hold int’l short film fest,...

DUFS to hold 13th edition of int’l short...

Showtime

Tue, May 25 2021

After 12 successful editions of the International Inter University Short Film Festival, Dhaka University...

Coast guard rescues 30 Rohingyas stranded...

Coast guard rescues 30 Rohingyas stranded...

Nation

Tue, Apr 27 2021

They set out from Teknaf on a fishing boat on Friday

Kenya orders closure of refugee camps,...

Kenya orders closure of refugee camps,...

World

Wed, Mar 24 2021

The decision would have an impact on the protection of refugees in Kenya, including in the context of...

Johannes van der Klaauw takes office...

UNHCR gets new representative in...

Bangladesh

Mon, Mar 8 2021

He is UNHCR’s 11th representative in Bangladesh

Japan, UNHCR sign $10m deal to improve...

$10m deal inked to improve water supply...

Bangladesh

Mon, Mar 1 2021

The project will be implemented over the course of three years

Rohingyas Adrift at Sea: Dhaka reminds...

Rohingyas: Dhaka reminds others of burden-sharing...

Bangladesh

Thu, Feb 25 2021

MoFA says BBC report on Rohingyas adrift at sea caught the attention of Bangladesh

UNHCR appeals for immediate rescue of...

UNHCR appeals for immediate rescue of...

Rohingya Crisis

Mon, Feb 22 2021

Unspecified number of Rohingyas on Andaman Sea for over a week with some already dead while others in...

Malaysia urged to halt planned forced...

Malaysia urged to halt planned forced...

South-East Asia

Fri, Feb 19 2021

Returned nationals will face oppressive military rule, says rights bodies

UN: Refugee resettlement hits 20-year...

UN: Refugee resettlement hits 20-year...

World

Tue, Jan 26 2021

The drop to 22,770 admissions was due to lower quotas set by recipient countries, limited flights and...

ED: Protect refugees, protect the...

ED: Protect refugees, protect the...

Editorial

Sun, Jan 24 2021

In a year or so, it not only resulted in a whopping 134% increase in wildlife diversity, but also made...

Tahsan becomes UNHCR goodwill...

Tahsan becomes UNHCR goodwill...

Showtime

Sat, Jan 2 2021

‘I feel privileged and honoured to be engaged with the UNHCR,’ says the popular singer-songwriter...

UN: Forced displacement tops 80m at...

UN: Forced displacement tops 80m at...

World

Wed, Dec 9 2020

79.5 million people were living uprooted and displaced-- more than 1% of the world's population

WHO: 336 Rohingyas infected with Covid-19...

WHO: 336 Rohingyas infected with Covid-19...

Rohingya Crisis

Wed, Nov 18 2020

As of October 31, some 71 host community members and nine Rohingyas have died from the deadly virus,...

UNHCR urges states to end limbo for...

UNHCR urges states to end limbo for...

World

Wed, Nov 11 2020

“The Covid-19 pandemic has shown more than ever the need for inclusion and the urgency to resolve...

UNHCR admires EU’s continuous support...

UNHCR admires EU’s support for...

Rohingya Crisis

Thu, Oct 29 2020

The EU has contributed €14 million to UNHCR to protect and assist Rohingya refugees and Bangladeshi...

UK gives $63m for Rohingya refugees...

UK gives $63m for Rohingya

Europe

Thu, Oct 22 2020

The UNHCR is appealing for more than $1 billion to meet the humanitarian needs of Rohingya refugees

Int’l donor conference on Thursday for...

Rohingya: Donors meeting Thursday

Rohingya Crisis

Tue, Oct 20 2020

On the heels of significant funding gap, countries to be urged to increase assistance to support Rohingyas,...

ED: Not nearly enough

ED: Not nearly enough

Editorial

Sun, Oct 18 2020

Providing for the Rohingya is not the long-term viable solution

UNHCR Rohingya fund nearly $500m...

UNHCR Rohingya fund nearly $500m...

Rohingya Crisis

Fri, Oct 16 2020

The UN Refugee Agency seeks solidarity in its upcoming donor conference from the US, UK, and the EU aimed...

UN refugee chief tests positive for...

UN refugee chief tests positive for...

World

Wed, Oct 7 2020

Filippo Grandi only has mild symptoms and hope to recover soon