• Monday, Jul 04, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Who needs a Covid-19 certificate to travel?

  • Published at 10:44 pm July 30th, 2020
Airport officials disinfect a passenger at Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport in Dhaka, Bangladesh on Monday, June 1, 2020 Mahmud Hossain Opu/Dhaka Tribune

The decision was taken during an inter-ministerial meeting on Thursday

The government has decided that instead of testing everyone, outbound passengers will be allowed to fly as per the requirements made by the country that they are travelling to.

The decision was taken at an inter-ministerial meeting on Thursday, confirmed Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) Chairman Air Vice Marshal M Mafidur Rahman to Dhaka Tribune.

“The government has decided that all passengers will not have to have a Covid-19 certificate. The clearance would only be mandatory when the destination country of the respective passenger asks for it. However, we will have to follow the Covid-19 health safety guidelines,” said the CAAB chairman.

An official announcement will be made regarding the issue after the Eid holiday, he said.

However, as the Covid-19 situation worldwide is continuing to deteriorate, more and more countries are likely to impose such regulations and requirements.

Taking to Dhaka Tribune, a number of officials of West Asia and South Asia wings of the Foreign Ministry, and CAAB, said that it would be challenging to find out which countries need Covid-19 certificates, and other requirements.

Civil Aviation Secretary Md Mohibul Haque said: "As far as we know, only the UAE and Qatar requires Covid-19 certificates for passengers."

Let us take a look at the travel requirements made by the countries where Bangladeshis mostly fly to, as of Thursday:


International visitors are permitted to enter the UK but they are required to self-isolate for at least 14 days. 

Bangladeshis travelling to the UK do not need Covid-19 clearance.


The US authorities allow one and all to enter the country. However, they have suspended tourist visas and banned people from Europe, Iran, Brazil, and China from entering.

Bangladeshis will also be allowed to enter in the US without a Covid-19 certificate.


The UAE has officially reopened its borders for international tourism on July 7.

However, passengers are required to carry a Covid-19 negative certificate, not older than 96 hours before departure.


Tourists from all countries are allowed to enter the Maldives. However, upon arrival, one needs to fill out a health declaration card.

The Maldives does not require any Covid-19 testing or place incoming travelers under quarantine.


Italy has announced a 14-day quarantine requirement. Despite that, the country has also published a list of banned countries until July 31. It will end on Friday.

The following are all the countries without any travel restrictions or additional entry requirements amid pandemic:


Turkey has reopened for tourists from all countries under normal travel regulations.

All passengers, of all nationalities, who meet Turkish immigration rules are permitted to enter Turkey from June 12.

There is no mandatory 14-day isolation or quarantine for travellers. Covid-19 testing prior to arrival is not required but tourists are required to wear a mask during the inbound flight, as well as in the airport. Anyone not sporting a mask will be denied entry.


Singapore is allowing travelers to transit through its main airport, but sea borders remain effectively closed.

Inbound and outbound travelers, since June 18, would have to pay for their own Covid-19 tests, if required.

Strict measures for the following countries:


The Thai government has decided to keep the kingdom under a state of coronavirus emergency until July 31.

Under those measures, tourists will effectively continue to be kept out of the kingdom.

Work-permit holders and their spouses and children, however, are allowed entry.

Those seeking medical treatment in Thailand will also be able to visit. However, this does not apply to Covid-19 patients.


Non-resident foreign nationals are not allowed to enter Malaysia.

The country's nationals are to be quarantined for 14 days upon their arrival.


Foreign passengers are not allowed to enter Canada.

This does not apply to nationals of Canada, passengers arriving from the USA who are traveling for a non-discretionary or non-optional purpose, and nationals of France residing in Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Indians under the Indian Act, seasonal agricultural workers, fish/seafood workers, caregivers, and all other temporary foreign workers.

The travel ban for most other foreign travelers is extended to at least July 31. 

A mandatory quarantine measure will now stay in place until at least August 31.

People entering the country, including citizens returning home, must self-isolate for 14 days upon the arrival.

Other Middle Eastern countries

Saudi Arabia, Oman, and Qatar will need a certificate, while Kuwait and Bahrain still imposes travel ban from Bangladesh.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail