• Sunday, Jan 29, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Two Nobel Laureates for literature this year

  • Published at 11:40 am March 21st, 2019
nobel literature
The Nobel prize medal | Photo: Collected

Lit news

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2019 will be awarded to two writers to make up for last year’s postponement of the award. According to the official website of the Nobel Foundation, this autumn laureates for 2018 and 2019 will be announced.    

The biggest literary award has never been withheld by the Nobel Foundation since 1949 except in 2018. The award was postponed following allegations of sexual misconduct, financial malpractice and repeated leaks. 

In November 2017, the Swedish Academy’s reputation—founded in 1786 by King Gustav III—was deeply damaged when a Swedish newspaper published accusations of sexual misconduct and financial malpractice against Jean-Claude Arnault, a photographer and a leading cultural figure in Sweden. 

Following an investigation initiated by the Academy, it was also alleged that he had leaked the names of at least seven Nobel laureates in advance. 

In a recent press release issued on March 5, the foundation said:

“During the past year, the Nobel Foundation has had a close dialogue with the Swedish Academy about the problems that arose in late 2017 and early 2018. Several important changes have been implemented since then. The Academy's regulations have been amended, making it possible for members to resign. The statutes have been clarified. Several new members have been elected. The Academy also no longer includes any members who are subject to conflict of interest or criminal investigations.

“Given the situation that has arisen, in order to increase confidence in the Nobel Prize in Literature the Swedish Academy has also approved a new system for its Nobel Committee for the next few years. Five independent external members, who will add valuable new perspectives, will participate in the task of selecting Nobel Laureates. The new committee will submit its own joint proposal for a Nobel Laureate. The Nobel Foundation has also learned that the Swedish Academy has changed the composition of the Nobel Committee so that it no longer includes members who have been associated with the past year's events. The new system is applied to both the 2018 and 2019 prizes.”

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail