• Saturday, Aug 20, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

New releases

  • Published at 04:17 pm October 6th, 2021
New release

Two books that should not be missed

Piranesi, Susanna Clark (Bloomsbury)

Piranesi recently came back into the spotlight for winning the 2021 Women's Prize for Fiction. Susanna Clark, the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, returns from a sixteen years long hiatus with a stunningly atmospheric new work of fiction. The book is about a man named Piranesi, living in a magical house filled with statues, beset by floods and surrounded by celestial objects. Perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe.


Also Read: Amitav Ghosh’s The Nutmeg's Curse


Finding the Raga, Amit Chaudhuri (New York Review of Books)

Finding the Raga: An improvisation of music is an auto-biographical exploration of the role and significance of music in our world, by one of India's well-known novelists and essayists, Amit Chaudhuri, who himself is a vocalist and performer. It's a book that seeks to make sense of Indian classical music, and of how Indian music challenges Western notions of what music might be. Amit Chaudhuri demonstrates a unique, stimulating and fascinating work by combining memoir, cultural criticism and philosophical reflection.