• Tuesday, Jul 05, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Bangladeshi scientist Hasan receives Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award

  • Published at 12:05 pm January 14th, 2021
M Zahid Hasan
File photo of physicist M Zahid Hasan Facebook

Hasan was honoured in the area of condensed matter and materials sciences

The US Department of Energy (DOE) will award the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award to Bangladeshi scientist M Zahid Hasan, Eugene Higgins professor of physics at Princeton University.

The award honours mid-career US scientists and engineers for exceptional contributions in research and development in support of DOE’s mission to advance the national, economic and energy security of the nation.

Hasan is one of eight recipients, each highlighted for a distinct field of research, announced January 12 by US Secretary of Energy Dan Brouillette, according to Princeton University’s official website on Wednesday.

The award was established in 1959 to honour Ernest Orlando Lawrence, a leading physics researcher who invented the cyclotron, a type of subatomic particle accelerator, and earned the 1939 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Lawrence also contributed to the development of the atomic bomb during World War II and led the establishment of the country’s national laboratory system.

“I am quite honoured and humbled to receive this award, as Ernest Orlando Lawrence was one of my scientific heroes,” Hasan said.

“Lawrence’s invention of the cyclotron led to modern high-energy accelerator technology that I use in my research to explore topological states of quantum matter. I am also very grateful to Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory for supporting my research leading to this award,” he added.

Hasan was honoured in the area of condensed matter and materials sciences for “experiments using advanced spin-angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy which led to seminal discoveries of new phases of matter and new fermionic quasiparticles.”

According to the award citation: “Hasan’s work has opened new areas in condensed matter physics and holds promise for future transformative applications in materials sciences. Guided by predictions from ab initio calculations, he has focused on the search for, and discovery of, new quantum states and topological quasiparticles such as the helical Dirac fermion and the Weyl fermion.”

Each Lawrence Award winner will receive a citation signed by the secretary of energy, a gold medal bearing the likeness of Ernest Orlando Lawrence, and a $20,000 honourarium.

Previous Princeton Department of Physics winners of the award include Val Fitch (1923-2015), a 1968 laureate, who was the James S McDonnell Distinguished Professor of Physics, Emeritus; and in 1976, James Cronin (1931-2016) who was a professor of physics at Princeton from 1958-1971. The two also shared the 1980 Nobel Prize for Physics.

The award will be presented at 1pm (EST) on January 19, in a virtual ceremony. To join, visit https://science.osti.gov/lawrence/ceremony.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail