• Monday, May 23, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Song penned by Zulfiqer Russell wins at Mirchi Music Awards (Bangla)

  • Published at 10:08 pm March 8th, 2018
  • Last updated at 12:28 pm March 9th, 2018
Song penned by Zulfiqer Russell wins at Mirchi Music Awards (Bangla)
A song penned by renowned songwriter and Bangla Tribune Editor Zulfiqer Russell has won the prize for best modern Bangla song at the 7th Mirchi Music Awards (Bangla) 2017. This is the first time a Bangladeshi lyricist has won at the Mirchi Music Awards (Bangla). The award ceremony was held at Kolkata’s Nazrul Mancha on Wednesday. The song, titled “Shabuj Chilo,” includes vocals by Nachiketa. [embed]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_YuhU5WIGw[/embed] The song was included on Nachiketa’s album “Benche Thakar Maane,” which was released last year. The album was nominated in several categories at the awards. Mirchi Music Awards are presented annually by Radio Mirchi to honour both artistic and technical excellence of professionals in the Indian film music industry. The awards, given in seventeen different categories, were introduced in 2008 for Hindi language songs. In 2010 it started awarding Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam songs, and in 2012, the Bangla edition of the awards was launched. Mirchi authorities said that the award was given to the lyricist Zulfiqer, the musician and artist Nachiketa, composer Tunai Debasish Ganguly and producer Asha Audio as the song was selected as the best in the Bangla Adhunik (modern) category. In his reaction, Zulfiqer said: “I have been writing songs for both Bangladesh and India for a long time. Although I have won many awards at home, this is the first time India has given me recognition on such a large scale. As a creative person, this will definitely encourage me to pursue greater things moving forward.” In the same category, Shovon received the award as male vocalist of the year, Sreeradha Bandyopadhyay as female vocalist of the year, Purab Seal Acharya as composer and Rupam Islam as lyricist. Other winners of the 7th Mirchi Music Awards (Bangla) 2017 include: Film song of the year: Chhaya Juddho, (Film: Jawker Dhan, singers: Rupam Islam and Sanchari Choudhury, composer: Meemo, lyricist: Prantik Chakraborty and Piya Chakraborty, director: Sayantan Ghosal, producer: Champion Movies) Film album of the year: Projapoti Biskut (Singers: Anindya Chatterjee, Anupam Roy, Chandrani Bandhopadyay, Diptarka Bose, Lagnajita Chakraborty, Prasen, Shilpa Rao, composers: Anindya Chatterjee, Anupam Roy, Prasen, Shantanu Moitra, lyricists: Anindya Chatterjee, Anupam Roy, Ritam Sen, director: Anindya Chatterjee, producer: Windows and Ganpati Production) Film male vocalist of the year: Satyaki Banerjee (Song: Khachar Bhitor Achin Pakhi, film: Chilekotha) Film female vocalist of the year: Somlata Acharyya, (Song: Nachorbanda Mon, film: Bibaho Diaries) Film music composer of the year: Jeet Ganguly, (Song: Baje Bina, film: Dekh Kemon Lage) Film lyricist of the year: Anupam Roy (Song: Keno Erokom, film: Posto) Film upcoming male vocalist of the year: Durnibar Saha (Song: Thikana, film: Mayurakshi) Film upcoming female vocalist of the year: Rashmeet Kaur (Song: Bedardi Balma, film: Byomkesh O Agniban) Film upcoming music composer of the year: Subho Pramanik (Song: Nei Alo, film: Shob Bhooturey) Film upcoming lyricist of the year: Suman Mickey Chatterjee (Song: Ekla Akash, film: Proyas) Rabindra Sangeet Album of the year: Tumi Amari (Singer: Durnibar Saha, arrangement: Amit Banerjee, producer: Asha Audio) Bangla band song of the year: Janla (Album: Fossils 5, band: Fossils, producer: Working Class Zero) Listeners choice song of the year: Ureche Mon (Film: Boss 2, singer: Arijit Singh , composer: Jeet Ganguly, lyricist: Pranjal, director: Baba Yadav, producer: Grassroot Entertainment) Listeners choice album of the year: Film Maacher Jhol (Singers: Anupam Roy, Nikita Gandhi, Saheb Chattopadhyay, composer and lyricist: Anupam Roy, director: Pratim D. Gupta, producers: Sony Pictures Networks and Mojo Productions) Song engineer (recording and mixing) of the year: Srirup Chatterjee & Raja Narayan Deb (Song: Magic Diary, Film: Biler Diary) Song producer (programming and arranging) of the year: Sovan Mukherjee and Neel Dutt, (Song: Bedardi Balma, film: Byomkesh O Agniban) Buddhadeb Ganguly was recognized with an award for his Outstanding Contribution to Bangla Music in the Special Jury Award category, while Debashish Roychowdhury and Rohini Raychaudhuri were recognized for their Excellence in Innovation with the album Numerous Strings. In 2016, Runa Laila was also recognized with an award for her Outstanding Contribution to Bangla Music in the Special Jury Award category. This article was first published on banglatribune.com
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail