• Saturday, Mar 25, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Poets in Bangladesh celebrate World Festival of Poetry denouncing war

  • Published at 07:44 pm June 23rd, 2019
Clockwise, poets in Bangladesh, Iran, India and Iraq, along with other countries, at events marking the World Festival of Poetry (WFP) | Rajib Dhar/Collected

Festival, promoting the cause of peace, celebrated in 160 countries

With a strong anti-war message poets across the globe celebrated a unique ‘World Festival of Poetry’ (WFP) on June 21 and 22. Renowned and budding poets in Dhaka joined hands with the world poetic fraternity in as many as 159 other countries on Saturday in this imitative with the slogan – No War, Hug Peace. Through these poetry recital events, the rhymesters sent a bold statement that the world doesn’t want to see breaking of any more wars as the mankind has seen enough of bloodsheds and manslaughters in the name of too many wars already. 

From Dhaka to Midnapore to Kolkata to Istanbul to cities in Latin America, Afro-Asia, scores of poets converged in each of the poetry recital events to utter self-composed verses denouncing war and hatred, and promoting the cause of lasting peace.   

The World Festival of Poetry (WFP) has been represented in more than 160 countries. In India the poetic festivity was celebrated nearly 20 different places including four in West Bengal – Midnapore, Kolkata, Howrah and Balurghat on Friday (June 21). And in Bangladesh, Edward M Kennedy Center and poetry organization Kathak jointly organized the festival event in the city’s EMK Center with the slogan – ‘No War-Hug Peace. For A World without War.’

World Festival of Poetry’s continental director and one of Bangladesh’s internationally acclaimed poet Aminur Rahman conducted the session with poet Mohammad Nurul Huda presiding over the poetry recital session. The participating poets include, among others, Al Mujahidi, Tarik Sujat, Jahangir Firoz, Shihab Shariar, Haikal Hashmi, Mahmud Hafiz, Kamruzzaman, Maksudul Ahsan, Shakib Lohani, Reaz Ahmad, Ahmed Tahsin Shams, Ayesha S Chowdhury, Jahanara Akhter, Dilruba Haider, Mir Akram, Shaila Kabir, Laila Afroze, and Jharna Rahman.   

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail