• Friday, Sep 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Academy exceeds diversity goal as 819 new members join

  • Published at 08:41 am July 1st, 2020
Rithik and Alia

The list includes actors Hrithik Roshan and Alia Bhatt, among others from India

The organization that awards the Oscars said on Tuesday it had invited 819 new members to join its ranks and exceeded a goal set four years ago to diversify the group’s membership by 2020.

Among the new members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are several stars of South Korean drama “Parasite,” the group said in a statement. In February, Parasite became the first foreign-language movie to win best picture.

The group includes actors Jang Hye-Jin, Jo Yeo-Jeong, Lee Jung-Eun and Park So-Dam and the movie’s editor, costume designer and other crew members. The movie’s director Bong Joon-ho and lead actor Song Kang-ho were invited in 2015.

Among other new members, who come from 68 countries, were actors Awkwafina, Ana de Armas, Cynthia Erivo, Niecy Nash, Florence Pugh and John David Washington, and director and writer Lulu Wang.

The academy launched an effort to diversify its ranks after facing criticism in 2015 when the #OscarsSoWhite movement highlighted a lack of Black actors nominated for the film industry’s top awards.With the new list, 33% of the academy’s 9,000-plus members are women and 19% come from underrepresented racial or ethnic communities, the academy said.

The group said it had surpassed the goal it set in 2016 to double the number of women and people from underrepresented communities by 2020. In 2015, 25% of the membership were women and 10% from underrepresented groups.

“We take great pride in the strides we have made in exceeding our initial inclusion goals set back in 2016, but acknowledge the road ahead is a long one,” said Academy Chief Executive Dawn Hudson. “We are committed to staying the course.”

The list also includes actors Hrithik Roshan and Alia Bhatt, casting director Nandini Shrikent, costume designer Neeta Lulla, documentary filmmakers Nishtha Jain and Amit Madheshiya, visual effects supervisors Vishal Anand and Sandeep Kamal, from India.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail