• Sunday, Nov 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

20 feature films receive government grants

  • Published at 11:34 am June 16th, 2021
20 full length films have been deemed eligible for the grants| Collected

For the budget year of 2020-2021, the Ministry of Information announced the list of films receiving grants on June 15

The Ministry of Information first provided a government grant of Tk2.5 lakh each to four film projects back in the fiscal year of 1976-77. Since then, the ministry has been granting funds to film-makers each year.

For the budget year of 2020-2021, the Ministry of Information announced the list of films receiving grants on June 15.

Last year, the Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud informed that the number of films receiving grants was increased in order to support and sustain the industry.

25 films, including 16 full length and 9 short films, received grants in the last fiscal year. This year, 20 full length films have been deemed eligible for the grants.  

Liberation War, general, and children's films were the three categories in which the grants were allocated.

Also Read - National Film Grant incites mixed reactions

Zahangir Hossain Mintu's "Khoma Nei", Naeem Imtiaz Neyamul's "Shaare Tin Haath Bhumi", Ujjal Kumar Mondol's "Mrittyunjoyee", F M Shahin and Hasan Jafrul's "Mic", Lubna Sharmin's "Nuliachorir Shonar Pahar", Kazi Hayat's "Joy Bangla", Anirudh Rasel's "Jomidaari", Zahidur Rahman Anjan's "Chaader Omaboshsha", Mejbaur Rahman Sumon's "Roid", Amitabh Reza Chowdhury's "Pencile Aka Pori", Arun Chowdhury's "Jole Jole", Aruna Biswas' "Oshombhob", Mirza Shakawat Hossain's "Bhangon", Rakibul Hasan Chowdhury's "Daowal", Iqbal Hossain Chowdhury's "Boli", Tamanna Sultana's "Srabon Jochnai", Ashutosh Bhattacharjee's "Deshantor", SA Haque Alik's "Golui", Ibrahim Khalil Mishu's "Deyaler Desh" and Kabirul Islam Rana's "Jolrong" are the 20 full-length films that received the grants this year.

For the last few years, the official list of the grant-receiving films drew criticism from the artistes, distributors and netizens for a perceived decline in quality.

The list of short film grant awardees was also released. Ten filmmakers were granted 14-20lack Taka each to complete their short length fiction or documentary. 

The directors selected in this category are Mehzad Ghalib, Mehedi Hassan Arnob, Shopno Shomudro, Shaila Rahman Tithi, Nasreen Islam, Shamsuddin Ahmad Shiblu, Russel Rana, Fazle Hasan Shishir, Emdadul Hoque Khan and Tasmiah Afrin Mou.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail