• Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Mosaddek returns for Afghanistan T20Is

  • Published at 07:51 am May 20th, 2018
  • Last updated at 03:31 pm May 20th, 2018

The Tigers will take on the Afghans in three T20Is on June 3, 5 and 7 respectively at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun

Batsman Mosaddek Hossain returned to the national side as the BCB Sunday announced a 15-member squad for the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan next month.

Batsman Imrul Kayes, wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul Hasan and paceman Taskin Ahmed have been dropped from the previous squad that took part in the Nidahas T20I tri-nation series against host Sri Lanka and India earlier this year.

Chief national selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu and selector Habibul Bashar announced the team at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.  

“Mosaddek has been picked as an all-rounder because there are some concerns about Mehedi Hasan Miraz’s fitness. He (Miraz) is not 100% fit. That’s why we have taken Mosaddek as Miraz’s backup. We believe Mosaddek has plenty of talent to bowl in T20Is. Mosaddek has become fit recently so the team management has taken the decision to pick him,” said Minhajul to the media after the team announcement. 

Taskin has been dropped due to poor form and injury concern. The chief selector informed that the pacer is trying to become fully fit through rehab process and believes the right-arm pacer needs to recover fully before the West Indies tour. 

Bangladesh are not treating the Afghanistan series likely as they declared a strong squad. 

“Every series is important for us. Our ranking position in T20I cricket is not that good. That’s why we have tried to send our best team there for the series. After the Nidahas series we have realised our strength in T20I cricket. We want to focus on that. And we also have T20Is in the West Indies tour. So we did not go for drastic changes in the squad,” said Minhajul. 

All-rounders Shakib al Hasan and Mahmudullah have been named captain and vice captain respectively.

The Tigers will take on the Afghans in three T20Is on June 3, 5 and 7 respectively at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun.

15-man squad

Shakib al Hasan (C), Mahmudullah (VC), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Haider Rony, Rubel Hossain and Abu Jayed Rahi

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail