• Saturday, Feb 04, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Captain Mashrafe fires in first spell

  • Published at 02:35 pm January 8th, 2019
Rangpur Riders' Mashrafe bin Mortaza bowls during their BPL match against Comilla Victorians in Mirpur Tuesday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Mashrafe bin Mortaza yet again showcased his expertise in the shorter formats with his clever bowling, and tight line and length

Rangpur Riders skipper Mashrafe bin Mortaza produced a brilliant spell of bowling against Comilla Victorians in their high-voltage BPL match. 

Mashrafe picked up four wickets in his allotted four overs, conceding just 11 runs. 

More importantly, he picked up the wickets of Tamim Iqbal (four off 10 balls), Imrul Kayes (two off four balls), Evin Lewis (eight off 15 balls) and Comilla captain Steve Smith (zero off five balls) during his four-over spell. 

Tamim got out in Mashrafe’s second over. Kayes and Lewis were dismissed in his third over. 

The last over he bowled was a maiden, and he also accounted for the wicket of Smith, so it was a wicket-maiden for the Rangpur captain. 

This was his best ever bowling figure in T20s, while his previous best I 4/19 against Ireland in 2012. 

Mashrafe yet again showcased his expertise in the shorter formats with his clever bowling, and tight line and length.



Tamim c Farhad b Mashrafe     4    10

Lewis c Nazmul b Mashrafe     8    15

Imrul c Bopara b Mashrafe     2    4

Smith c Farhad b Mashrafe     0    5

Malik lbw b Shafiul         0    3

Anamul c Howell b Farhad     2    7

Afridi c Gayle b Nazmul     25    18

Saifuddin c Mithun b Shafiul     7    5

Mahedi st Mithun b Nazmul     6    13

Haider c Mithun b Nazmul     5    11

Shahid not out            0    7

Extras (w 4)            4 

Total (16.2 Overs)        63 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-10 (Tamim), 2-16 (Imrul), 3-18 (Lewis), 4-18 (Malik), 5-18 (Smith), 6-27 (Anamul), 7-39 (Saifuddin), 8-55 (Afridi), 9-62 (Mahedi), 10-63 (Haider)


Mashrafe 4-1-11-4, Gazi 2-0-7-0, Shafiul 2-1-8-2, Nazmul 3.2-1-20-3, Farhad 2-0-11-1, Howell 3-0-6-0


Gayle c Anamul b Haider    1    5

Maruf not out            36    39

Rossouw not out        20    28

Extras (lb 1, w 9)        10 

Total (12 Overs)        67/1 

Fall Of Wickets

1-14 (Gayle)


Haider 3-0-11-1, Mahedi 3-0-22-0, Shahid 2-0-10-0, Afridi 2-0-16-0, Saifuddin 1-0-3-0, Smith 1-0-4-0

Rangpur Riders won by nine wickets

MoM: Mashrafe bin Mortaza (RR)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail