• Monday, Aug 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Rajshahi stun Rangpur

  • Published at 07:11 pm January 13th, 2019
Rajshahi Kings' Mustafizur Rahman bowls during their BPL match against Rangpur Riders in Mirpur Sunday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Mustafizur Rahman’s brilliant effort helped Rajshahi Kings to their second win from four games

Rajshahi Kings defeated Rangpur Riders by five runs after yet another close finish in the BPL in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Sunday.

Chasing 136 for victory, Rangpur eventually finished on 130 losing six wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. 

Nine runs were needed in the last over, and Mustafizur Rahman came on to bowl for the Kings. 

Rilee Rossouw and Farhad Reza were the unbeaten batsmen at the crease, and they managed to score only three. 

Rossouw took a single off the first delivery, before Farhad played out three dot balls off the next three deliveries as the match swung in favour of Rajshahi. 

The two batsmen changed ends in the fifth ball, courtesy a bye run, and thus equation read seven needed from the final delivery.  

Rossouw went for the maximum, but only managed to take a single through long-off.

Mustafizur’s brilliant effort helped Rajshahi to their second win from four games.

Rossouw was the top-scorer for Rangpur as he was unbeaten on 44 off 45 balls. 

Captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza surprised the spectators by opening the batting with Chris Gayle, but the former failed to score any run (nought off two balls), while the latter made 23.

Mohammad Hafeez and Kamrul Islam Rabbi took two wickets each for the Kings.

Earlier, Rajshahi skipper Mehedi Hasan Miraz also opened the innings, but lost his wicket off the very first ball he faced, against Mashrafe in the second over.

Zakir Hasan scored the highest for the Kings, anchoring the innings with unbeaten 42-run knock off 36 balls. 

Hafeez (26) and Soumya Sarkar (18) scored some useful runs as Rajshahi registered a decent total of 135.

Mashrafe and Farhad bagged two wickets apiece for the Riders.

This was Rangpur third defeat in five games.

Rangpur will face Sylhet Sixers in their next match in the Sylhet phase, while Rajshahi will take on Khulna Titans.



Mominul st Mithun b Gazi    14    16

Miraz c Shafiul b Mashrafe     0    1

Soumya c Farhad b Mashrafe 18    13

Hafeez run out (Bopara)    26    29

Zakir not out            42    36

Evans c Bopara b Farhad     2    7

Doeschate run out (Farhad)    14    10

Udana c Gazi b Farhad     8    5

Arafat b Shafiul         1    2

Rabbi not out            1    1

Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 5)        9 

Total (20 Overs)        135/8 

Fall Of Wickets

1-6 (Miraz), 2-33 (Mominul), 3-36 (Soumya), 4-90 (Hafeez), 5-96 (Evans), 6-112 (Doeschate), 7-130 (Udana), 8-133 (Arafat)


Gazi 3-0-25-1, Mashrafe 4-0-22-2, Nahidul 2-0-14-0, Nazmul 2-0-14-0, Howell 3-0-20-0, Shafiul 4-0-19-1, Farhad 2-0-17-2


Gayle c Soumya b Rabbi    23    14

Mashrafe c Zakir b Rabbi    0    2

Mithun c Evans b Hafeez    30    31

Rossouw not out        44    46

Bopara b Hafeez        1    5

Howell run out (Mominul)    4    6

Nahidul c Soumya b Udana    16    12

Farhad not out        0    4

Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 2, pen 5)    11 

Total (20 Overs)        129/6 

Fall Of Wickets

1-2 (Mashrafe), 2-31 (Gayle), 3-71 (Mithun), 4-83 (Bopara), 5-92 (Howell), 6-126 (Nahidul)


Rabbi 2-0-22-2, Miraz 4-0-25-0, Udana 4-0-22-1, Mustafizur 4-0-17-0, Arafat 2-0-12-0, Hafeez 4-0-22-2

Rajshahi Kings won by five runs

MoM: Zakir Hasan (RK)