• Thursday, Dec 01, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Game dedicated to Kulasekara

  • Published at 06:06 pm July 31st, 2019
Sri Lanka's Nuwan Kulasekara receives an ovation from teammates in Colombo Wednesday AFP

A swinger of the new ball both ways, Nuwan Kulasekara ended his Sri Lanka career as the third-highest ODI wicket-taker among seamers, behind Chaminda Vaas and Lasith Malinga

Sri Lanka Cricket dedicated the game to its right-arm pacer Nuwan Kulasekara. 

The 37-year old had announced his retirement last Thursday while the Lankans were preparing to host Bangladesh for the three-match ODI series. 

The SLC and the team decided to give Kulasekara the send-off through the game. despite him being a non-member of the current squad. 

A swinger of the new ball both ways, Kulasekara ended his Sri Lanka career as the third-highest ODI wicket-taker among seamers, behind Chaminda Vaas and Lasith Malinga. 

Kulasekara is the joint second-highest wicket-taker for Sri Lanka in T20Is, with 66 wickets in 58 matches and since his international debut in 2003 he has played 184 ODIs and picked up 199 wickets at an impressive economy rate of 4.9. 

He also played 58 T20Is and finished with 66 wickets.


SRI LANKA INNINGS            R    B

Fernando lbw b Shafiul        6    14

Karunaratne c Mushfiqur b Taijul     46    60

Perera c Mushfiqur b Rubel         42    51

Mendis c Sabbir b Soumya         54    58

Mathews c Mushfiqur b Soumya     87    90

Shanaka c Sabbir b Shafiul         30    14

Jayasuriya c Tamim b Shafiul         13    7

Hasaranga not out             12    5

Dananjaya c Sabbir b Soumya     0    1

Rajitha not out            0    0

Extras (w4)                 4

Total (50 overs)             294/8

Fall Of Wickets

1-13 (Fernando), 2-96 (Karunaratne), 3-98 (Perera), 4-199 (Mendis), 5-251 (Shanaka), 6-280 (Jayasuriya), 7-284 (Mathews), 8-284 (Dananjaya)  


Shafiul 10-2-68-3(w1), Rubel 9-1-55-1(w1), Taijul 10-1-34-1, Miraz 9-0-59-0, Soumya 9-0-56-3(w1), Mahmudullah 3-0-22-0 (w1)


Anamul c Fernando b Rajitha         14    24

Tamim c Perera b Rajitha        2    6

Soumya b Dananjaya             69    86

Mushfiq c Mendis b Shanaka         10    15

Mithun c Kumara b Shanaka         4    11

Mahmudullah c Perera b Shanaka     9    12

Sabbir c sub b Kumara         7    17

Miraz c sub b Kumara             8    6

Taijul not out                 39    28

Shafiul c Perera b Hasaranga         1    5

Rubel run out                 2    6

Extras (lb 2, w5)             7

Total (36 overs)             172 all out

Fall Of Wickets

1-4 (Tamim), 2-29 (Anamul), 3-46 (Mushfiqur), 4-60 (Mithun), 5-83 (Mahmudullah), 6-105 (Sabbir), 7-117 (Miraz), 8-143 (Soumya), 9-149 (Shafiul), 10-172 ( Rubel)


Jayasuria 6-0-40-0, Rajitha 5-0-17-2 (w3), Dananjaya 10-0-44-1, Shanaka 6-0-27-3 (w2), Hasaranga 3.5-1-16-1, Kumara 5-0-26-2

Sri Lanka won by 122 runs

MoM & MoS: Angelo Mathews

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail